Loading, please wait...

Summer Evening - (Four Seasons of Walter de la Mare) by Walter de la Mare (Paperback)

About this item


Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Animals

Series Title: Four Seasons of Walter de la Mare

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Faber & Faber Children's

Age Range: 4-8 years

Book theme: Cows

Author: Walter de la Mare

Language: English

TCIN: 54521651
UPC: 9780571314676
Item Number (DPCI): 248-91-5253


"As a revelation of the wonders of the English language, de la Mare's poems for children are quite unrivaled." - W. H. Auden

Part of a quintet of books revolved around the four seasons, this is a beautifully atmospheric picture book based around de la Mare's eight line poem. In Summer Evening, readers will join a farmer and his family as they enjoy a picnic dinner in the late summer sun. Their pet cat spots a mouse in the field and a chase pursues that includes a dog, a horse, cows, pigs, chickens, and ducks! The sparse text and bright colors give children much to look at and explore, and they will love identifying the different animals in each spread. It concludes with all the animals going to sleep, so also a great bedtime read.

With striking orange and yellow tones throughout, this conjures up perfectly the feeling of a balmy late summer evening.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.

*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.