Loading, please wait...

Super Fake Love Song - by David Yoon (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 8.6 Inches (H) x 5.7 Inch (W) x 1.2 Inch (D)

Weight: 1 Pounds

Number of Pages: 368

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: People & Places

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

Author: David Yoon

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: Asian American, United States

Language: English

Street Date: November 17, 2020
TCIN: 79681645
UPC: 9781984812230
Item Number (DPCI): 059-12-3366
Origin: Made in the USA

Description



About the Book



When new-girl Cirrus mistakes self-described nerd Sunny Dae as the lead in a rock band, Sunny rolls with it forming a fake band with his friends, but as the lies continue he risks losing both Cirrus and his friends.



Book Synopsis



An NPR Book Concierge Pick of the Year

"The fun of this engrossing read is that underneath the slapstick lies a finely nuanced meditation on how we perform as ourselves." --New York Times Book Review

From the New York Times bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a moving young adult novel about friendship, identity, and acceptance. Perfect for fans of John Green and To All the Boys I've Love Before.

When Sunny meets Cirrus, he can't believe how cool and confident she is. So when Cirrus mistakenly thinks Sunny plays guitar, he accidentally winds up telling her he's the front man of a rock band.

Before he knows it, Sunny is knee-deep in the lie: He gets his best friends to form a fake band with him and starts dressing like a rock star. But no way can he trick this amazing girl into thinking he's cool, right?

Just when Sunny is about to come clean, Cirrus asks to see them play sometime. Gulp.

Now there's only one thing to do: Fake it till you make it.



Review Quotes



Praise for Super Fake Love Song
An Amazon Best Book of the Year
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year
A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
A YALSA Best Fiction Pick For Young Adults

The fun of this engrossing read (I found myself laughing out loud and admiring Yoon's wordplay) is that underneath the slapstick lies a finely nuanced meditation on how we perform as ourselves. The real surprise is how many of our perceived shortcomings are part of a self-imposed narrative... Through romance and failed romance, passion projects and fake passion projects, Sunny and the people around him learn that being true to yourself, once you figure out what the heck that is, is the most important thing of all. --The New York Times Book Review

"While this is the classic (YA at its best) story of a boy and his first high school relationship, at its heart Super Fake Love Song is also the story of an even more important relationship: the one you have with yourself. It's a big-hearted novel full of delightful, funny, empathetic characters." --NPR Book Concierge

"Sweet and funny." --PopSugar

"Brimming with nerdy humor and warm feels... the perfect rom-com to snuggle up with... an absolute delight to read! This is a funny, heartwarming story about friendship and family, and it is guaranteed to make you smile." --The Young Folks

"Don't miss this sweet rom-com about identity and belonging." --HelloGiggles

"This real-life role-playing-game YA novel addresses being true to oneself in a funny, heartfelt way.... Yoon's colorful language and careful plotting enhance an effective, meaningful story about self-acceptance." --Shelf Awareness

[S]weet and pointed story of a nerd out of his depth....David Yoon explores the cost of toxic masculinity and the price to young adults when parents give up everything to chase the American dream. --Minneapolis Star Tribune

★ "Yoon captures the humor, the heart, and the universal anxieties--and possibilities--of trying on new identities in high school . . . A clever, hilarious, and empathetic look at diverse teens exploring authenticity, identities, and code-switching." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

★ "Yoon's (Frankly in Love) endearingly winning coming-of-age novel . . . challenges stereotypes and tackles the age-old theme of being true to oneself, whether that self is a rock star or a nerd." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

★ "Readers will be drawn in by the sweet romance and Sunny's hilarious narration. But in a novel filled with excellent writing, strong characterization, and abundant positive messages, perhaps the greatest strength of all is the emotional openness of the male characters. VERDICT Yoon's sophomore follow-up to 2019's Frankly in Love is charming, witty, and inspirational. Highly recommended." --School Library Journal, starred review

"With this delectable comedy of errors, Yoon reaffirms his place in the pantheon of authors crafting smart, satisfying romantic fare for teens... [It] offers a more complex melody by mixing in running commentary on diversity, culture, and class. . . A worthy read-next for fans of Jenny Han, Nicola Yoon, and David Yoon's Frankly in Love, it's a novel that strikes all the right chords." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

The novel is a joyful one. . . For nerds--and those who love them--this is a fitting tribute." --The Horn Book

"[Sunny's] voice, unique and wry, is gripping. Fans of Yoon's Frankly in Love--and there are legions--will enjoy this follow-up that similarly tries to reconcile romance with identity." --Booklist



About The Author



David Yoon grew up in Orange County, California, and now lives in Los Angeles with his wife, novelist Nicola Yoon, and their daughter. He drew the illustrations for Nicola's #1 New York Times bestseller Everything, Everything. He is the author of the New York Times bestseller Frankly in Love, which was a William C. Morris Award finalist and an Asian/Pacific American Award for Young Adult Literature Honor book. You can visit him at davidyoon.com.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.5 inches width x 8.25 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.103 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars with 2 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.