Taylor Compact Instant-Read Pen Style Digital Kitchen Thermometer

Taylor Compact Instant-Read Pen Style Digital Kitchen Thermometer - image 1 of 3Taylor Compact Instant-Read Pen Style Digital Kitchen Thermometer - image 2 of 3Taylor Compact Instant-Read Pen Style Digital Kitchen Thermometer - image 3 of 3
Taylor Compact Instant-Read Pen Style Digital Kitchen Thermometer - image 1 of 3
$14.59When purchased online

About this item

At a glance

Battery Power Source
Battery Power Source
Wedding Registry Favorites
Wedding Registry Favorites

Highlights

  • Pen-style digital kitchen thermometer from Taylor
  • Waterproof design perfect for kitchen use
  • 10-min timer automatically shuts off the thermometer
  • Large LCD display gives an instant read
  • Probe cover fits the back as a handle

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 7.1 Inches (H) x 1.2 Inches (W) x .8 Inches (D)
Weight: .1 Pounds
Features: Storage Sleeve, Digital Display
Minimum Fahrenheit temperature reading: -40
Maximum Fahrenheit temperature reading: 450
Thermometer type: Digital
Material: Stainless Steel, Plastic
Power Source: Battery
Battery: 1 LR44 Alkaline, Required, Included
Care & Cleaning: Spot or Wipe Clean
Warranty: 1 Year Limited Warranty. To obtain a copy of the manufacturer's or supplier's warranty for this item prior to purchasing the item, please call Target Guest Services at 1-800-591-3869
TCIN: 11010202
UPC: 077784017708
Item Number (DPCI): 070-05-0944
Origin: Imported

Description


This compact digital thermometer from Taylor is great for kitchen use. It has an on/off switch, hold feature and a stainless-steel stem. The large LCD display makes for fast and accurate readings. With its waterproof design, this food thermometer can be used care-free in the kitchen. It has a quick response time and wide temp range from -40 degrees F to 450 degrees F. It's also easy to care for -- just wipe with a damp cloth.
Battery Power Source
Product is powered by battery
Wedding Registry Favorites
Highly requested item on wedding registries.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 8.67 inches length x 4.17 inches width x 1.02 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.11 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: where is it made in ?

submitted by Shelly - 7 months ago
  • A: Made in China

    submitted byLifetime Brands, Inc. - 7 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does it come with a battery?

submitted by Kathie - 1 year ago
  • A: The Taylor Thermometer includes 1 LR44 Alkaline (Required).

    submitted byLifetime Brands, Inc. - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is this a good thermometer for whole turkeys?

submitted by Pat NJ - 1 year ago
  • A: This is a digital instant read thermometer so it is intended to be used to check the internal temperature of food including turkeys. It has a quick response time and wide temp range from -40 degrees F to 450 degrees F. NOTE - This is not intended to be left in the meat. Please reach back out if you have additional questions. Thanks!

    submitted byLifetime Brands, Inc. - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can this be used as a candy thermometer?

submitted by Jules - 1 year ago
  • A: The instant read thermometer is not meant to be a candy thermometer since this is not a thermometer you can leave-in for a length of time, it is an instant read type. For candy, we recommend getting a specific candy thermometer. Please reach out with additional questions. Thanks!

    submitted byLifetime Brands, Inc. - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Will this thermometer work when making yogurt to get accurate temperature of milk that is being heated?

submitted by shopper - 1 year ago
  • A: Yes! This will work or get accurate temperature - It just can't be left in the pan. Please reach back out if you have additional questions. Thanks!

    submitted byLifetime Brands, Inc. - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can this be used to take temperature of bread while being baked?

submitted by zoey - 2 years ago
  • A: The compact digital thermometer from Taylor is not made to be left in the oven while cooking. This thermometer is an instead read thermometer with a large LCD display It has a quick response time for fast and accurate readings and wide temp range from -40 degrees F to 450 degrees F. Please reach out if you have additional questions and we would be happy to help!

    submitted byLifetime Brands, Inc. - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: can this be used to measure the temperature of cooking oil or other liquids in a pan/pot on the stove top, e.g. prior to deep frying or as a a candy thermometer?

submitted by ab - 2 years ago
  • A: You should be able to use this to get a temperature on oil, etc. It has a quick response time and wide temp range from -40 degrees F to 450 degrees F.

    submitted byLifetime Brands, Inc. - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is the battery replaceable, or will I have to buy a new thermometer when the batteries run out?

submitted by Disappoint mother - 2 years ago
  • A: Battery is replaceable. Requires 1 LR44 Alkaline (Included). Thanks!

    submitted byLifetime Brands, Inc. - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: how long does the battery last and where to buy replacement batteries?

submitted by T - 2 years ago
  • A: The estimated battery life is approximately one year. Replacement batteries can be bought wherever batteries are available for sale.

    submitted byLifetime Brands, Inc. - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: How much of the rod must be inserted into the meat for an accurate temperature reading? We only cook for two and often are cooking smaller cuts of meat.

submitted by philfrei - 2 years ago
  • A: We recommend inserting the stem at least 1" for an accurate reading. If the cut of meat is thinner, the stem can be inserted more at an angle to get more contact. How to use: Remove food from oven, turn on the digital display by pressing the ON/OFF button and insert thermometer in the thickest part of the meat, immersing the stem at least 1", but not in contact with bone, fat or gristle and wait for temperature to stabilize.

    submitted byLifetime Brands, Inc. - 2 years ago
    Brand expert
4.2 out of 5 stars with 283 reviews
67% would recommend
100 recommendations
easy to clean: 4.09 out of 5
ease of use: 4.16 out of 5
quality: 3.51 out of 5
value: 3.64 out of 5

Died after two weeks

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Terrible in every way - 7 days ago
Had a problem as soon as I opened it. Discovered some corrosion on the battery terminal. Cleaning it seemed to solve the problem. Two weeks in, the display dimmed to unreadable. Tried two new batteries, but the problem persisted. Returning to Target tomorrow. Incidentally... I would not call it "instant read." It takes ten to fifteen seconds to read close to the actual temperature.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Good basic thermometer

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Phillymom3 - 10 days ago
Works great. However this is the second one I bought. You cannot leave it in the heat for more than a minute or so or else the thermometer breaks and will not function again. It’s not heavy duty
value: 4 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Good and easy-to-use

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Rose - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Overall a good product
Did you find this review helpful?

Great

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Mark C - 2 months ago
Really good ! No complaints
ease of use: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Poor product

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Patty - 3 months ago, Verified purchaser
Harder to do to take temperatures.I have had others that you can use still cooking and states to get temp This one you have to remove from cooking to get a temp and then hit a hold button,once then repeat hold again to get existing temp.If not the desired temp,returevtonccooking and repeat procedure.
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
ease of use: 2 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Must have

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
H - 4 months ago, Verified purchaser
This is a must-have for my kitchen. I use it daily. It’s pretty quick and very reliable. Be careful washing it- my first one got too wet and got water in the display, which made it very difficult to read. It still worked though!
quality: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 4 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Do not recommend!!!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Lex - 8 months ago, Verified purchaser
Does not seem accurate & it takes FOREVER to read. The temperature slowly ticks up 0.1 degrees at a time & I have to hold it over boiling oil for what feels like 5 minutes. Chicken has been coming out dry
value: 1 out of 5
ease of use: 1 out of 5
easy to clean: 3 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Good buy

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
jillyb - 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
Price was right, works great , small but read out is large.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Perfect Steaks

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
BeefMeats - 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
It reads internal temperature quickly and accurately. It’s very easy to use.
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Candy Or Cooking Thermometer

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Nancy - 10 months ago, Verified purchaser
Worked Great And Exactly What I Was Looking For At The Best Price!!
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Breaks easily!!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
vic - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
It worked great for a few months and now it has fallen apart even though I take care of it and don’t use it that often. The metal part that you put into food falls off and doesn’t give an accurate reading. Save your money and buy a different brand.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
ease of use: 4 out of 5
easy to clean: 2 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Amazing

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
B - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Had to buy a new thermometer after our old one broke. I loveeee this thing! I use it every time i cook because i’m afraid to under/over cook and it’s amazing. Lasting a while and if it breaks I would buy it again.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Buy it

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Connie - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
It’s great thermometer I recommend.
value: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Don't Buy

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Dkirk - 1 year ago
Thermometer never worked since I got it. Unfortunately I threw the package away and can't return. It's been stuck reading LL.L
value: 1 out of 5
easy to clean: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
ease of use: 1 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

NOT an instant read - went straight in the trash

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Hi - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
NOT an instant read. Absolute garbage - takes up to a minute to provide temp reading and questionable accuracy. For a true instant read you want Thermopro TP03
quality: 1 out of 5
easy to clean: 4 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
ease of use: 3 out of 5
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Mixed feelings about this Taylor instant-read food thermometer

4 out of 5 stars
GerryW - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Removed device from packaging and opened the battery compartment to take out the insulator but there was none and the battery was dead (see tester readout). Replaced the button cell and the thermometer works fine. Rather than send this back to Target, I sent an email to the manufacturer asking them to send me a replacement battery. Either way we'll keep this unit as it is now in working condition.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
easy to clean: 5 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Over 2 years and still works awesome

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
shannongirl80 - 1 year ago
I love the wide temperature range so you can use it for meats, candy, and a ton of other things. It's durable and have never had an issue with it. I'm going on 3 years with this one.
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Meh....

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Red_Steele - 1 year ago
Water gets under the screen. I changed the battery and a piece fell out. Unfortunately it no longer works.
easy to clean: 2 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
ease of use: 4 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

You need this!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Meghan - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Worked incredibly well! instructions were very clear and my turkey came out perfect!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Display broke after second time using it

2 out of 5 stars
Christian - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
When I turned it on to use it for the second time the third digit on the screen just didn't light up. The build quality isn't bad, but i barely used it and it refused to work.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy Choices - CAInterest Based Ads