:

product description page

Texas Ranger : The Epic Life of Frank Hamer, the Man Who Killed Bonnie and Clyde (Hardcover) (John

Texas Ranger : The Epic Life of Frank Hamer, the Man Who Killed Bonnie and Clyde (Hardcover) (John - image 1 of 1

About this item

To most Americans, Frank Hamer is the "villain" in the 1967 film Bonnie & Clyde.In Texas Ranger, historian John Boessenecker argues that Hamer was in fact a classic American hero. His career began in the horseback days of the Old West and lasted through the gangster days of the 1930s, only to be ended when he ran up against another legendary Texan: Lyndon B. Johnson.

Hamer stood on the frontlines of some of the most important and exciting periods in American history. From participating in the Bandit War of 1915, to surviving the climactic gunfight in the last blood feud of the Old West, to battling the Mexican Revolution's spillover across the border, to protecting African-Americans from lynch mobs and the Ku Klux Klan, to running down gangsters, bootleggers, and Communists, Hamer's life story offers an inside look at early 20th-century America.

For readers of Hampton Sides, S.C. Gwynne, and Jeff Guinn, Texas Ranger is the first biography to tell the full story of this near-mythic lawman.

Number of Pages: 514
Genre: Biography + Autobiography
Sub-Genre: Police
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: St Martins Pr
Author: John Boessenecker
Language: English
Street Date: April 26, 2016
TCIN: 50775305
UPC: 9781250069986
Item Number (DPCI): 248-10-7429
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$20.39
MSRPReg: $29.99 Save $9.60 (32% off)

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.