Loading, please wait...

The Christmas of the Phonograph Records - by Mari Sandoz (Paperback)

The Christmas of the Phonograph Records - by  Mari Sandoz (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
The Christmas of the Phonograph Records - by  Mari Sandoz (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Shipping
Free standard shipping with RedCard

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 36

Genre: Biography + Autobiography

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Bison Books

Author: Mari Sandoz

Language: English

TCIN: 77829327
UPC: 9780803292420
Item Number (DPCI): 247-15-9229

Description

"Mari Sandoz's tiny book is beautiful. . . . This reminiscence is a vivid reminder to us . . . of how eagerly grasped, how deeply treasured, were the bits of culture that did make their way to the frontier."-Western Folklore. "There have been many nostalgic accounts of Christmas remembrances, but none quite as distinctive as The Christmas of the Phonograph Records. Perhaps this is because Old Jules is unlike any other person one encounters in fact or fiction."-Western American Literature. "A good story for family reading on Christmas Eve."-Wyoming Library Roundup. Charmingly, Mari Sandoz tells of a long-ago Christmas in western Nebraska when her father's house was filled with good music. Old Jules had ordered an Edison phonograph and boxes of cylinder records from the East, paying for them with an inheritance and ignoring debts, to the chagrin of his long-suffering wife. But the entire family soon entered into the holiday spirit as neighbors arrived to feast and dance and enjoy musical selections ranging from Lucia di Lammermoor to Casey at the Telephone. Even old enmities dissolved under the spell, for, as Old Jules said, "The music is for everybody." A classic in the tradition of Dylan Thomas's Child's Christmas in Wales and Truman Capote's Christmas Memory, this story by the famous author of Old Jules was first published posthumously in December 1966. Linda Hasselstrom is a rancher and freelance writer living in Cheyenne, Wyoming. She is the author of Land Circle: Writings Collected from the Land.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.