EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleCelebrate Black History MonthBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The City of Dusk - (Dark Gods) by Tara Sim (Paperback)

The City of Dusk - (Dark Gods) by  Tara Sim (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
The City of Dusk - (Dark Gods) by  Tara Sim (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$15.99 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



Extras includes an excerpt from The mask of mirrors.



Book Synopsis



"Tara Sim's adult debut is a glorious tapestry of magic and murderous gods and a perfect entry for anyone looking for a new series starter." --BuzzFeed News

DARKNESS FALLS. GODS RISE.

The Four Realms--Life, Death, Light, and Darkness--all converge on the City of Dusk. For each realm there is a god, and for each god there is an heir.

But the gods have withdrawn their favor from the once vibrant and thriving metropolis. And without it, all the realms are dying.

Unwilling to stand by and watch the destruction, the four heirs--Angelica, an elementalist with her eyes set on the throne; Risha, a necromancer fighting to keep the peace; Nikolas, a soldier who struggles to see the light; and Taesia, a shadow-wielding rogue with a reckless heart--will become reluctant allies in the quest to save their city.

But their rebellion will cost them dearly.

Set in a world of bone palaces and shadow magic, of vengeful gods and defiant chosen ones, The City of Dusk is Tara Sim's crackling adult fantasy debut.



Review Quotes




"Lovers of epic, dark fantasies, rejoice! There's literally a lot here to love at 512 pages, including immersive writing that excellently builds this magical world, badass queer characters, and an interesting plot. Fans of A Darker Shade of Magic and All of Us Villains will want to pick this up sooner rather than later."--BookRiot

"Through its generous number of perspectives and gorgeous prose, Tara Sim proves herself again to be a talented worldbuilder and detailed storyteller."--Locus

"A delightful, complex, intimate yet explosive debut adult fantasy novel." --Strange Horizons

"A good fantasy, with a cracking ensemble cast and a wonderful world."--Grimdark Magazine

"Fantasy readers will appreciate Sim's attempt to create an expansive world in the vein of A Darker Shade of Magic or Gideon the Ninth....There's a lot to love here." --Kirkus

"Recommended for fans of large scale fantasy sagas with diverse, frequently queer protagonists." --Booklist

"Tara Sim's adult debut is a glorious tapestry of magic and murderous gods and a perfect entry for anyone looking for a new series starter."--BuzzFeed News



About the Author



Tara Sim is the author of TheCity of Dusk (Orbit), as well as the Scavenge the Stars duology (Little, Brown) and the Timekeeper trilogy (Sky Pony Press). She can often be found in the wilds of the Bay Area, California. When she's not writing about magic, murder, and mayhem, Tara spends her time drinking tea, wrangling cats, and lurking in bookstores.
Dimensions (Overall): 9.1 Inches (H) x 5.9 Inches (W) x 1.7 Inches (D)
Weight: 1.54 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 576
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Fantasy
Series Title: Dark Gods
Publisher: Orbit
Theme: Epic
Format: Paperback
Author: Tara Sim
Language: English
Street Date: March 22, 2022
TCIN: 84196522
UPC: 9780316458894
Item Number (DPCI): 247-22-1365
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.7 inches length x 5.9 inches width x 9.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.54 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads