Loading, please wait...

The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team - by Kit Rosewater & Sophie Escabasse (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 176

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Sports & Recreation

Series Title: Derby Daredevils

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Amulet Books

Age Range: 9-12 Years

Book theme: General

Author: Kit Rosewater & Sophie Escabasse

Language: English

Street Date: March 24, 2020
TCIN: 78554244
UPC: 9781419740794
Item Number (DPCI): 247-25-5345
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



Fifth-grade best friends Kenzie "Kenzilla" and Shelly "Bombshell" dream of becoming roller derby superstars one day, but when a junior league forms and they must recruit teammates, will their friendship survive?



Book Synopsis



A highly illustrated middle-grade series that celebrates new friendships, first crushes, and getting out of your comfort zone

Ever since they can remember, fifth-graders Kenzie (aka Kenzilla) and Shelly (aka Bomb Shell) have dreamed of becoming roller derby superstars. When Austin's city league introduces a brand-new junior league, the dynamic duo celebrates! But they'll need to try out as a five-person team. Kenzie and Shelly have just one week to convince three other girls that roller derby is the coolest thing on wheels. But Kenzie starts to have second thoughts when Shelly starts acting like everyone's best friend . . . Isn't she supposed to be Kenzie's best friend? And things get really awkward when Shelly recruits Kenzie's neighbor (and secret crush!) for the team. With lots of humor and an authentic middle-grade voice, book one of this illustrated series follows Kenzie, Shelly, and the rest of the Derby Daredevils as they learn how to fall--and get back up again.



Review Quotes




**STARRED REVIEW**
"This a great pick about fierce young ladies coming together through sports. The book has loads of action and plenty of heart, running with themes of friendship, being a good communicator, dealing with jealousy, and even a little sprinkle of how it feels to have a crush on someone you think is just the coolest person ever. Memorable characters and frequent illustrations bring the story to life and will make anyone want to get their derby on."-- "Booklist"

**STARRED REVIEW**
"In her wonderful debut, Rosewater gives readers a look into the world of roller derby and what it entails, while depicting a relatable story of shifting young friendships... A great addition to juvenile sports fiction for school and public libraries. Perfect for fans of Victoria Jamieson's Roller Girl, and readers seeking stories about sports-loving girls supporting each other."-- "School Library Journal"

"A lighthearted celebration of life, friendship, and rolling with the punches."-- "Kirkus Reviews"

"Relatable, empathic series debut introduces readers to the fast-paced sport of roller derby and hints at interesting backstories for Kenzie's teammates."-- "Publishers Weekly"



About the Author



Kit Rosewater has a master's degree in children's literature from Hollins University. The Derby Daredevils is her debut book. She lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Sophie Escabasse is the author-illustrator of the forthcoming Witches of Brooklyn graphic-novel trilogy. She lives in Brooklyn with her family.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Mon, May 24 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.6 inches width x 8.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.65 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Northern Mariana Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), United States Minor Outlying Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.