Loading, please wait...

The Falling Girls - by Hayley Krischer (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 320

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Social Themes

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Razorbill

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: Friendship

Author: Hayley Krischer

Language: English

Street Date: October 5, 2021
TCIN: 83990677
UPC: 9780593114148
Item Number (DPCI): 247-08-3779
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



Seventeen-year-old Shade learns that friendship can be toxic after she joins the cheerleading team over her best friend's objections.



Book Synopsis



A riveting, intimate portrayal of just how intense and all-consuming female friendships can be. Urgent and piercing, The Falling Girls is a gut-punch of a book. --Jessica Goodman, New York Times bestselling author of They Wish They Were Us and They'll Never Catch Us

From the author of the unforgettable Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf comes an intoxicating thriller about the dark paths female friendships can take, set against the backdrop of a high school cheerleading squad. Perfect for fans of Megan Abbott and Kathleen Glasgow.

Shade and Jadis are everything to each other. They share clothes, toothbrushes, and even matching stick-and-poke tattoos. So when Shade unexpectedly joins the cheerleading team, Jadis can hardly recognize who her best friend is becoming.

Shade loves the idea of falling into a group of girls; she loves the discipline it takes to push her body to the limits alongside these athletes . Most of all, Shade finds herself drawn to The Three Chloes--the insufferable trio that rules the squad--including the enigmatic cheer captain whose dark side is as compelling as it is alarming.

Jadis won't give Shade up so easily, though, and the pull between her old best friend and her new teammates takes a toll on Shade as she tries to forge her own path. So when one of the cheerleaders dies under mysterious circumstances, Shade is determined to get to the bottom of her death. Because she knows Jadis--and if her friend is responsible, doesn't that mean she is, too?

In this compelling, nuanced exploration of the layered, intoxicating relationships between teen girls, and all the darkness and light that exists between them, novelist Hayley Krischer weaves a story of loss and betrayal, and the deep reverberations felt at a friendship's breaking point.



Review Quotes




High school drama, cliques, jealousy, obsession, the power of friendship, and the toxicity of codependence are explored with sensitivity... all balanced seamlessly against family dynamics, making for an unusually complex story. Engrossing. --Kirkus Reviews

Krischer's sophomore novel explores the kinds of toxic relationships that teenagers often find themselves in. A heavy dose of cheer terminology immerses readers in that world, while strong themes of independence, friendships, and boundaries will speak to teen readers. Gripping. --Booklist

A riveting, intimate portrayal of just how intense and all-consuming female friendships can be. Urgent and piercing, The Falling Girls is a gut-punch of a book. Hayley Krischer's latest novel is not to be missed. --Jessica Goodman, bestselling author of They Wish They Were Us and They'll Never Catch Us

With The Falling Girls, Hayley Krischer has woven a suspenseful, poignant, and tangled web of friendships set against the electric backdrop of high school cheer. Like teen girlhood itself, the intensity of these relationships is sometimes beautiful, sometimes dark. Like the best thrillers, it is ultimately deadly." --Kit Frick, author of I Killed Zoe Spanos

A compelling, crushing, and spot-on story about toxicity, feminism, and friendship, The Falling Girls is a knock-your-socks off novel that packs an emotional wallop. A gorgeous and powerful book about American girlhood. --Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and You'd Be Home Now



About the Author



Hayley Krischer is a writer and journalist. She is a regular contributor to The New York Times, where she covers women, teenage girls, celebrities, and cultural trends. Her work has also appeared in Marie Claire, The Atlantic, The New York Times Magazine, and more. Hayley is also the author of Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf. She lives in Glen Ridge, New Jersey, with her husband, two kids, one dog, and three cats.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.18 inches length x 5.51 inches width x 8.35 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.95 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.