Loading, please wait...

The German Heiress - by Anika Scott (Paperback)

The German Heiress - by  Anika Scott (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
The German Heiress - by  Anika Scott (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Shipping
Free standard shipping with RedCard
Loading, please wait...

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 496

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Historical

Format: Paperback

Publisher: HarperLuxe

Book theme: World War II

Author: Anika Scott

Language: English

Street Date: April 7, 2020
TCIN: 79626018
UPC: 9780062978974
Item Number (DPCI): 247-39-7977

Description

"Meticulously researched and plotted like a noir thriller, The German Heiress tells a different story of WWII-- of characters grappling with their own guilt and driven by the question of what they could have done to change the past." --Jessica Shattuck, New York Times bestselling author of The Women in the Castle

For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post-World War II Germany.

Clara Falkenberg, once Germany's most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname "the Iron Fr�ulein" during World War II for her role operating her family's ironworks empire. It's been nearly two years since the war ended and she's left with nothing but a false identification card and a series of burning questions about her family's past. With nowhere else to run to, she decides to return home and take refuge with her dear friend, Elisa.

Narrowly escaping a near-disastrous interrogation by a British officer who's hell-bent on arresting her for war crimes, she arrives home to discover the city in ruins, and Elisa missing. As Clara begins tracking down Elisa, she encounters Jakob, a charismatic young man working on the black market, who, for his own reasons, is also searching for Elisa. Clara and Jakob soon discover how they might help each other--if only they can stay ahead of the officer determined to make Clara answer for her actions during the war.

Propulsive, meticulously researched, and action-fueled, The German Heiress is a mesmerizing page-turner that questions the meaning of justice and morality, deftly shining the spotlight on the often-overlooked perspective of Germans who were caught in the crossfire of the Nazi regime and had nowhere to turn.

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.