Loading, please wait...

The Infinite Future - by Tim Wirkus (Hardcover)

The Infinite Future - by  Tim Wirkus (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
The Infinite Future - by  Tim Wirkus (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Shipping
Free standard shipping with RedCard
This item isn't sold in stores

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 400

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Penguin Press

Author: Tim Wirkus

Language: English

Street Date: January 16, 2018
TCIN: 53027758
UPC: 9780735224322
Item Number (DPCI): 248-52-4098

Description

"Stupendously inventive and rewarding...The second half of Wirkus' tale is...a sci-fi epic which echoes Battlestar Galactica and the fiction of Ursula K. Le Guin in equal measure...Especially well suited for fans of Jonathan Lethem and Ron Currie, this work announces Wirkus as one of the most exciting novelists of his generation."
--Booklist (starred review)

"Wirkus crafts two gripping sagas into one gloriously captivating tome."--Paste

"Roberto Bolaño meets Ursula K. Le Guin meets James Hynes meets, um, Kilgore Trout? I'm having a difficult time being clever in the shadow of having read Tim Wirkus's magnificently audacious The Infinite Future. How about this: it's a book about the power and melancholy magic of the stories we tell and of the stories we live." - Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and Disappearance at Devil's Rock

"Brilliant, playful, and profound, The Infinite Future offers its readers stories within stories within stories, all of them thrilling and wise. Tim Wirkus has written a strange and beautiful magic trick of a book, and I was enthralled. I loved it." - Edan Lepucki, author of California and Woman No. 17

"The Infinite Future is uniquely pleasurable. Again and again it changes the terms of its telling--wrapping stories within stories and narrators within narrators, enclosing the mystical in the earthly and the fantastic in the realistic....Wirkus has a gift for maintaining a story's equilibrium, and with each new narrative layer he explores, I found myself instantly reinvested in the proceedings." - Kevin Brockmeier, author of The Brief History of the Dead

"Tim Wirkus has worked wonders. The Infinite Future is an astonishing feat, a religious text wrapped in a science-fiction yarn wrapped in a mystery, wrapped in a road trip wrapped in a snarky collegiate literary feud. At every turn it surprises and delights, and in the end it proves itself a deeply moving examination of what it means to tell--and more importantly, be told--stories." - Forrest Leo, author of The Gentleman

"Tim Wirkus has channeled the ghost of Laurence Sterne and the imagination of René Magritte. From the foreword on I was taken by this novel. Entertaining, fun and very, very smart, the story is everywhere at once, but never lost. This is a house of mirrors worth entering." - Percival Everett, author of Erasure and Half an Inch of Water

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.