The Killing Code - by Ellie Marney (Hardcover)

The Killing Code - by  Ellie Marney (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
The Killing Code - by  Ellie Marney (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$14.99When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 13-17 Years
Number of Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Thrillers & Suspense
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Book theme: Psychological
Author: Ellie Marney
Language: English
Street Date: September 20, 2022
TCIN: 85688435
UPC: 9780316339582
Item Number (DPCI): 247-05-9821
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



"Kit Sutherland moves to Washington, DC, to work as a codebreaker at Arlington Hall, but when she stumbles onto a bloody homicide scene, she joins forces with other female codebreakers to find the person killing government girls"--



Book Synopsis



A historical mystery about a girl who risks everything to track down a vicious serial killer--for fans of The Enigma Game and Last Night at the Telegraph Club.

Virginia, 1943: World War II is raging in Europe and on the Pacific front when Kit Sutherland is recruited to help the war effort as a codebreaker at Arlington Hall, a former girls' college now serving as the site of a secret US Signal Intelligence facility. But Kit is soon involved in another kind of fight: government girls are being brutally murdered in Washington DC, and when Kit stumbles onto a bloody homicide scene, she is drawn into the hunt for the killer.

To find the man responsible for the gruesome murders and bring him to justice, Kit joins forces with other female codebreakers at Arlington Hall--gossip queen Dottie Crockford, sharp-tongued intelligence maven Moya Kershaw, and cleverly resourceful Violet DuLac from the segregated codebreaking unit. But as the girls begin to work together and develop friendships--and romance--that they never expected, two things begin to come clear: the murderer they're hunting is closing in on them...and Kit is hiding a dangerous secret.



Review Quotes




Praise for None Shall Sleep:

"A YA Silence of the Lambs that blew me away with its daring premise, gripped me with its twists and turns, and kept me up all night until its stunning conclusion. Ellie Marney brings the serial killer thriller to YA with riveting suspense and sizzling style. Don't read this book in the dark!"--C.S. Pacat, USA Today bestselling author of Fence

"Marney (Circus of Arts) has created a thrilling cat-and-mouse story in this taut, Silence of the Lambs-like thriller.... Marney also skillfully creates engaging and complex characters as well as a budding romance that tenderly juxtaposes the overarching plot."--Publishers Weekly

"An intersectional and enthralling story of largely unknown ­history mixed with engrossing crime ­mystery."--SLJ

"A nifty whodunit, a strong focus on friendship, and an empowering queer romance."--Kirkus Reviews

"The tightly plotted story moves inexorably forward with shocking twists. Vivid, chilling, and important."--Kirkus Reviews



About the Author



Ellie Marney is an New York Times bestselling author of crime thrillers. Her titles include the Aurealis-winning None Shall Sleep, White Night, the Every series and the companion novel No Limits, and the Circus Hearts series. Her books are published in ten countries, and have been optioned for television. She's spent a lifetime researching in mortuaries, talking to autopsy specialists, and asking former spies about how to make explosives from household items, and now she lives quite sedately in southeastern Australia with her family. Her latest book is The Killing Code, an intense mystery about female codebreakers hunting a serial killer against a backdrop of 1940s wartime Washington DC. You can find out more about Ellie and her books at www.elliemarney.com or online @elliemarney.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.25 inches length x 5.81 inches width x 8.39 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.09 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy Choices - CAInterest Based Ads