Loading, please wait...

The Land of Forgotten Girls - by Erin Entrada Kelly (Hardcover)

The Land of Forgotten Girls - by  Erin Entrada Kelly (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
The Land of Forgotten Girls - by  Erin Entrada Kelly (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Not in stores
Shipping
Free standard shipping with RedCard
Loading, please wait...

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 304

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Age Range: 9-12 years

Book theme: Emigration & Immigration

Author: Erin Entrada Kelly

Language: English

Street Date: March 1, 2016
TCIN: 50455009
UPC: 9780062238641
Item Number (DPCI): 248-06-9990

Description

In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better.

School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls "A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance." For readers of Pam Mu�oz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents' Choice Gold Award.

Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove--their mythical, world-traveling aunt--is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope?

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai.

Booklist said, "Kelly's sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol's true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life."

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.