Loading, please wait...

The Leopard Behind the Moon - by Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 256

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Fantasy & Magic

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Age Range: 9-12 Years

Author: Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev

Language: English

Street Date: September 21, 2021
TCIN: 83966585
UPC: 9780062993618
Item Number (DPCI): 247-03-0209
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



Ezomo chases after the leopard he believes killed his father, which leads him and his two friends to open the forbidden magical door that protects their village.



Book Synopsis



No one knows what lies beyond the magical village door, but Ezomo is determined to find out. Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev's debut is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, family, and long-standing traditions. The power of storytelling comes to life in this novel perfect for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly, Tracey Baptiste, and Tae Keller.

There are three important laws in Ezomo's village: Do not go to The Valley, do not go out at night, and never, ever, ever open the magical door that protects them all. But when Ezomo encounters the leopard believed to have killed his father, he and his two best friends embark on a journey that leads them past the boundaries set by their elders.

With his friends by his side, Ezomo chases after the leopard, certain that it has the power to cure all. But in the process, he discovers the truth about his village. And that cautionary tales exist for a reason.

Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev's debut novel balances a gripping adventure with themes of friendship, community, identity, grief, and resilience. Poignant and memorable, Ezomo's story will appeal to fantasy lovers and readers of Grace Lin and Kelly Barnhill.



Review Quotes




"A boy and his best friends embark on a pilgrimage that delivers bittersweet life lessons in a richly rendered, West African-inspired world. . . . Paasewe-Valchev's prose is captivating, smooth, and poetic in its delivery of this fresh and layered narrative. With well-timed, fluid pacing, this novel masterfully deals with themes of friendship, family, loss, and hope. Readers will be engrossed from start to finish. A beautifully rendered coming-of-age story." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.02 inches length x 6.33 inches width x 8.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.89 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.