The Leopard Behind the Moon - by Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev

The Leopard Behind the Moon - by Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev - image 1 of 1
The Leopard Behind the Moon - by Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev - image 1 of 1
$11.29When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 9-12 Years

Number of Pages: 256

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Fantasy & Magic

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Author: Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev

Language: English

Street Date: September 21, 2021
TCIN: 83966585
UPC: 9780062993618
Item Number (DPCI): 247-03-0209
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



Ezomo chases after the leopard he believes killed his father, which leads him and his two friends to open the forbidden magical door that protects their village.



Book Synopsis



"A beautifully rendered coming-of-age story."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

No one knows what lies beyond the magical village door, but Ezomo is determined to find out. Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev's debut is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, family, and long-standing traditions. The power of storytelling comes to life in this novel perfect for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly, Tracey Baptiste, and Tae Keller.

There are three important laws in Ezomo's village: Do not go to The Valley, do not go out at night, and never, ever, ever open the magical door that protects them all. But when Ezomo encounters the leopard believed to have killed his father, he and his two best friends embark on a journey that leads them past the boundaries set by their elders.

With his friends by his side, Ezomo chases after the leopard, certain that it has the power to cure all. But in the process, he discovers the truth about his village. And that cautionary tales exist for a reason.

Mayonn Paasewe-Valchev's debut novel balances a gripping adventure with themes of friendship, community, identity, grief, and resilience. Poignant and memorable, Ezomo's story will appeal to fantasy lovers and readers of Grace Lin and Kelly Barnhill.




Review Quotes




"A boy and his best friends embark on a pilgrimage that delivers bittersweet life lessons in a richly rendered, West African-inspired world. . . . Paasewe-Valchev's prose is captivating, smooth, and poetic in its delivery of this fresh and layered narrative. With well-timed, fluid pacing, this novel masterfully deals with themes of friendship, family, loss, and hope. Readers will be engrossed from start to finish. A beautifully rendered coming-of-age story." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"[A] wondrous tale of the village of Sesa, the unusual boy who lives there--and magic enough to change them both. . . . Combining adventure, cautionary tale, and folklore, the narrative includes many side stories and intertwined histories. . . . Making use of many characteristics found in West African oral traditions (call and response, repetition, proverbs, etc.), this tale is a joy to read both silently and aloud." -- Horn Book Magazine


If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.02 inches length x 6.33 inches width x 8.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.89 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads