Loading, please wait...

The Little Red Fort - by Brenda Maier (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 40

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Social Themes

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Age Range: 4-8 Years

Author: Brenda Maier

Language: English

Street Date: March 27, 2018
TCIN: 53200514
UPC: 9780545859196
Item Number (DPCI): 248-56-6960
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



With sprightly text and winsome pictures, this spunky, feminist adaptation of the timeless favorite "The Little Red Hen" celebrates the pluck and ingenuity of young creators everywhere. Full color..



Book Synopsis



A spunky, feminist adaptation of the timeless favorite, The Little Red Hen, sure to appeal to fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer.

A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year* The Little Red Hen gets an appealing girl-power update...Young makers of all genders will be inspired. --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred reviewRuby's mind is always full of ideas.One day, she finds some old boards and decides to build something. She invites her brothers to help, but they just laugh and tell her she doesn't know how to build.Then I'll learn, she says.And she does!When she creates a dazzling fort that they all want to play in, it is Ruby who has the last laugh.With sprightly text and winsome pictures, this modern spin on the timeless favorite The Little Red Hen celebrates the pluck and ingenuity of young creators everywhere!



Review Quotes




Praise for The Little Red Fort by Brenda Maier, illustrated by Sonia Sánchez: A Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year* The Little Red Hen gets an appealing girl-power update...Young makers of all genders will be inspired. -- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred reviewUsing a narrative framework and dialogue inspired by the Little Red Hen.... Maier judiciously adapts one of the best nursery stories, keeps it simple, and makes it her own. The upbeat mixed-media illustrations are nicely varied in composition and perspective. A lively picture book that's fun to read aloud. -- Booklist[Sánchez's] textured illustrations and sense of humor add depth to each dynamic scene. Throughout the story, Maier's little Latina go-getter breaks gender and cultural stereotypes....empowering.... -- Kirkus ReviewsMaier's girl-power-meets-classic folktale story line is engaging and entertaining. Sánchez's colorfully patterned and textured illustrations give dimension to a determined and endearing pigtailed heroine and her realistic multigenerational, multi-skin-toned family. -- The Horn BookThis delightful retelling of the old story of The Little Red Hen is perfect for storytime or one-on-one sharing. It also reminds girls that they can do whatever they set their minds to do. -- School Library Journal...exuberance on every page. -- Publishers WeeklyThe repetition of key words and the predictable narrative would make this book excellent for reading aloud....The warmly colored illustrations with pops of red are.... a fitting style for a book about one child's creativity and ingenuity. -- School Library Connection, recommended



About the Author



Sonia Sánchez paints with both traditional and digital brushes, using layers of texture in her work to evoke emotion and movement. She is the illustrator of The Little Red Fort by Brenda Maier; The Wonderful Habits of Rabbits and The Curious Cares of Bears, both by Douglas Florian; and Sister Day! by Lisa Mantchev. Sonia lives with her husband and son and a sleepyhead cat in a blue house near the Mediterranean Sea on the eastern coast of Spain.
Brenda Maier's debut picture book, The Little Red Fort, was called inspired by the Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books in a starred review, and was named a Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year, a Bank Street College Best Children's Book of the Year, and winner of One Book for Colorado. Brenda is a public school teacher and a gifted education specialist. When she isn't writing, Brenda enjoys traveling with her family, baking peanut-free cookies, and watching her five children build amazing creations from found materials. She lives near Tulsa, Oklahoma. You can learn more about her work at brendamaier.com.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Thu, Aug 5 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 8.5 inches width x 11.7 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Virgin Islands, U.S., Northern Mariana Islands, United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), APO/FPO

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.