Loading, please wait...

The Ones We're Meant to Find - by Joan He (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 384

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Science Fiction

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Roaring Brook Press

Age Range: Teen

Author: Joan He

Language: English

Street Date: May 4, 2021
TCIN: 80510360
UPC: 9781250258564
Item Number (DPCI): 247-48-3321
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



A New York Times Besteller, perfect for fans of Marie Lu and E. Lockhart, The Ones We're Meant to Find is a gripping and heartfelt YA sci-fi with mind-blowing twists. Set in a climate-ravaged future, Joan He's beautifully written novel follows the story of two sisters, separated by an ocean, desperately trying to find each other.



Book Synopsis



A New York Times Bestseller
An Indie Bestseller

Perfect for fans of Marie Lu and E. Lockhart, The Ones We're Meant to Find is a gripping and heartfelt YA sci-fi with mind-blowing twists. Set in a climate-ravaged future, Joan He's beautifully written novel follows the story of two sisters, separated by an ocean, desperately trying to find each other.

Cee has been trapped on an abandoned island for three years without any recollection of how she arrived, or memories from her life prior. All she knows is that somewhere out there, beyond the horizon, she has a sister named Kay, and it's up to Cee to cross the ocean and find her.

In a world apart, 16-year-old STEM prodigy Kasey Mizuhara lives in an eco-city built for people who protected the planet?and now need protecting from it. With natural disasters on the rise due to climate change, eco-cities provide clean air, water, and shelter. Their residents, in exchange, must spend at least a third of their time in stasis pods, conducting business virtually whenever possible to reduce their environmental footprint. While Kasey, an introvert and loner, doesn't mind the lifestyle, her sister Celia hated it. Popular and lovable, Celia much preferred the outside world. But no one could have predicted that Celia would take a boat out to sea, never to return.

Now it's been three months since Celia's disappearance, and Kasey has given up hope. Logic says that her sister must be dead. But nevertheless, she decides to retrace Celia's last steps. Where they'll lead her, she does not know. Her sister was full of secrets. But Kasey has a secret of her own.



Review Quotes




A New York Times Bestseller
An Indie Bestseller

I fell in love with this haunting, futuristic world and the sisters searching for each other in it. Joan He's words will stay with you long after the final page. - Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Skyhunter

Much like the floating cities within its pages, this book is a perfect synthesis of high-tech futurism and dreamlike imagery. Gripping, heartfelt, and joyously cerebral, this is a story to dive into and let its twisting currents pull you into a strange, clever, and startlingly original world. Emily Suvada, author of This Mortal Coil

In a climate-ravaged future, the love between two sisters is the only hope for humanity's future. This is sci-fi at its best: floating cities, kindness and desert islands! Lauren James, author of The Reckless Afterlife of Harriet Stoker

Interweaving Cee's immediate first-person voice and Kasey's more removed third-person narration, He crafts an intricate, well-paced rumination on human nature, choice, and consequence. - Publishers Weekly, starred review

Exhilarating and heartbreaking... This fast-paced sf tale is sure to linger. - Booklist

A stunning and compelling novel full of twists and an emotional pull that will make readers want to finish it in one go. - BuzzFeed

An intriguing foray into a devastating future--and yet one where hope abides. - Kirkus

A melancholy, heartbreaking story of a young woman who loved her sister enough to survive years of horrors in order to get back to her... It's painful stuff, beautifully written, and He gives that suffering the space it deserves in this reflective novel. - The Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books (BCCB), recommended

At turns whimsical and gut-wrenching... He grafts deep moral and ethical questions to a page-turning premise, making this sci-fi standalone an excellent book club selection. - School Library Journal




About the Author



Joan He was born and raised in Philadelphia but still will, on occasion, lose her way. At a young age, she received classical instruction in oil painting before discovering that stories were her favorite kind of art. She studied psychology and Chinese history at the University of Pennsylvania and currently writes from a desk overlooking the city waterfront. She is the author of Descendant of the Crane, her young adult debut novel.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Fri, Jun 25 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.5 inches width x 8.4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.95 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S., American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), United States Minor Outlying Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.