Loading, please wait...

The Silence Between Us - by Alison Gervais (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 320

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Disabilities & Special Needs

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Blink

Age Range: Teen

Author: Alison Gervais

Language: English

TCIN: 76486993
UPC: 9780310766162
Item Number (DPCI): 248-30-0729

Description

"The Silence Between Us is eminently un-put-down-able." (NPR)

Schneider Family Book Award, Best Teen Honor Book 2020

"This is a great YA contemporary (clean) romance that follows Maya as she navigates a new school and plans for her future. The addition of representation by a Deaf character was really beautifully done. Highly recommend for people looking for a sweet, engaging, and educational romantic read." (YA and Kids Book Central)

#OwnVoices YA novel features Deaf / Hard of Hearing Community

"It's time we see more Deaf characters in books. It's time we see more books celebrating sign language and Deaf culture," said author Alison Gervais.

Deaf teen Maya moves across the country and must attend a hearing school for the first time. As if that wasn't hard enough, she also has to adjust to the hearing culture, which she finds frustrating--and also surprising when some classmates, including Beau Watson, take time to learn ASL. As Maya looks past graduation and focuses on her future dreams, nothing, not even an unexpected romance, will not derail her pursuits. But when people in her life--Deaf and hearing alike--ask her to question parts of her Deaf identity, Maya stands proudly, never giving in to the idea that her Deafness is a disadvantage.

The Silence Between Us

  • Features a Deaf protagonist and an #OwnVoices perspective on Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture
  • Is a clean YA romance by Wattpad sensation Alison Gervais
  • Is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and CeCe Bell
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.