Loading, please wait...

The Sky at Our Feet - by Nadia Hashimi (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 304

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Social Themes

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: HarperCollins

Age Range: 9-12 Years

Book theme: Emigration & Immigration

Author: Nadia Hashimi

Language: English

Street Date: March 6, 2018
TCIN: 53227176
UPC: 9780062421937
Item Number (DPCI): 248-37-0269
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



A young boy fears that his mother, an illegal immigrant from Afghanistan, has been deported, so he runs away to New York City to find help. A timely and poignant story about contemporary Muslims by the acclaimed author of "One Half from the East."



Book Synopsis



This #ownvoices novel by bestselling author Nadia Hashimi tells the affecting story of an Afghan-American boy who believes his mother has been deported. For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Counting by 7s. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Jason has just learned that his Afghan mother has been living illegally in the United States since his father was killed in Afghanistan. Although Jason was born in the US, it's hard to feel American now when he's terrified that his mother will be discovered--and that they will be separated.

When he sees his mother being escorted from her workplace by two officers, Jason feels completely alone. He boards a train with the hope of finding his aunt in New York City, but as soon as he arrives in Penn Station, the bustling city makes him wonder if he's overestimated what he can do.

After an accident lands him in the hospital, Jason finds an unlikely ally in a fellow patient. Max, a whip-smart girl who wants nothing more than to explore the world on her own terms, joins Jason in planning a daring escape out of the hospital and into the skyscraper jungle--even though they both know that no matter how big New York City is, they won't be able to run forever.



Review Quotes




★ "A gripping story about two brave children on the run in the Big Apple... An important book with a well-crafted plot that is sure to linger several days after readers finish it."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★ "A winsome supporting cast, snappy dialogue, and nonstop adventures just shy of fantastic make this a thought-provoking, heartwarming page-turner."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Jason's strong narrative voice illustrates the plight of a family torn apart and what it means to be an American child of an undocumented parent."--Booklist

"The story is fast-paced and engaging with sympathetic protagonists who raise thought-provoking contemporary issues. An absorbing read."--School Library Journal
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Thu, Jun 24 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.8 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.75 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: APO/FPO, United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Virgin Islands, U.S., Northern Mariana Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.