Loading, please wait...

The Subway Girls - by Susie Orman Schnall (Paperback)

The Subway Girls - by  Susie Orman Schnall (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
The Subway Girls - by  Susie Orman Schnall (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Shipping
Not available

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 320

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Format: Paperback

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

Author: Susie Orman Schnall

Language: English

TCIN: 53525329
UPC: 9781250169761
Item Number (DPCI): 248-77-6057

Description

"The Subway Girls intertwines two distinct narratives in a tale highlighting the unexpected commonalities between us all." --InStyle.com

"Schnall unites the women in a shared struggle to achieve balance in ambition, happiness, and love." --Refinery29 in the Best New Books Out This July Round-up

"[A] clever idea and relatable protagonists...a fun read." --Booklist

"As Olivia observes in the book, she'd always assumed women in the 1940s only aspired to be housewives and mothers, not careerwomen. Schnall nicely shows that women have always wanted balance family and a career and that it's never been easy." --Library Journal

"[A] warm, intelligent historical novel." --Refinery29 in the Brilliant Books To Bring To The Beach This Summer Round-up

"This novel is perfect for fans of both historical and contemporary fiction." --Ms.CareerGirl.com in The Best Beach Reads for Your Summer Vacation Round-up

"A fascinating story of two women living a generation apart and their connection to the real historic Miss Subways campaign, Schnall's new novel is a captivating read for anyone who loved Fiona Davis's The Dollhouse, and will be the perfect addition to your summer reading beach bag." --Brit+Co in the 10 Hot New Books for Your 2018 #TBR Pile Round-up

"If you love historical fiction... In Susie Orman Schnall's latest fiction read, two successful women, decades apart, find an important tie to the 1949 Miss Subways beauty contest." --PopSugar.com in This Summer's Hottest New Books For Every Type of Reader Round-up

"[One of the] top 25 must-reads every book lover needs to get his or her hands on this summer." --Parade.com in their Summer Round-up

"[One of] the Best Beach Reads of Summer 2018." --PureWow.com

"[The Subway Girls is 1 of] 24 Great Historical Fiction Books Coming Out This Summer." --BookBub in their Summer Round-up

"Schnall debuts with an inspiring, feminist, timely story of two women, 70 years apart, who both fight for the right to have a career, independence and love. This enjoyable, poignant tale will certainly resonate with readers of any generation." --RT Reviews

"A charming, inspiring tale, crossing two generations of ambitious young women, striving against the odds to make their mark, find happiness--and figure out, decades apart, if it's ever possible to do both." --Nicola Kraus, co-author of the #1 New York Times bestseller The Nanny Diaries

"The Subway Girls is a joyous romp through New York City, with a magnetic cast of characters you'll root for from page one. Dazzling and delicious." --Fiona Davis, bestselling author of The Address and The Dollhouse

"This novel is feminist at heart and it's true to the time period, which at times means things don't always go the way the characters (or we!) wish they'd go. The story twists in unexpected ways which delighted me. Schnall never takes the easy way out. Fans of Taylor Jenkins Reid and Camille Di Maio will adore this book. A great story of Miss Subways, New York, and women making their ways in a cutthroat business." --Jennifer S. Brown, bestselling author of Modern Girls

"Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely, offering an incisive take on the changing opportunities for women in the workplace with a number of satisfying surprises. Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." --Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

"The intriguing stories of two formidable women, Charlotte and Olivia, intertwine in Susie Orman Schnall's latest, a fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis's The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women's lives." --Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions

"This is a must read for fans of modern-day fiction and historical fiction alike. There is so much to love in this story - all the satisfying nostalgia of the post-war advertising world, and all the excitement of present-day New York." --Lynda Cohen Loigman, author of The Two-Family House

"This page-turner is finely balanced by a heartwarming journey that spans decades. I couldn't put it down." --Amy Sue Nathan, author of Left to Chance

"Schnall effortlessly weaves past and present in a tale of two women striving for their dreams in the cutthroat NYC advertising world. With a fascinating concept and characters you'll root for, The Subway Girls had me racing to its satisfying conclusion." --Kristin Contino, author of Legacy of Us

"Susie Orman Schnall seamlessly moves between the present and past, weaving together the stories of two different women facing the timeless decisions of love, career, and happiness." --Orly Konig-Lopez, author of The Distance Home

"The Subway Girls is an enchanting story of two women separated by decades, and brought together by fate. Olivia and Charlotte are two of the most lovable literary heroines I've met in ages, I was rooting for both of them from the first page to the last. A charming, thoughtful story that illuminates how much has changed for women over the past few generations, and how much has not." --Andrea Dunlop, author of
Losing the Light and She Regrets Nothing

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.