Loading, please wait...

The Suicide House - (A Rory Moore/Lane Phillips Novel) by Charlie Donlea (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 368

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Mystery & Detective

Series Title: A Rory Moore/Lane Phillips Novel

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corporation

Age Range: Adult

Book theme: Police Procedural

Author: Charlie Donlea

Language: English

Street Date: July 28, 2020
TCIN: 79664130
UPC: 9781496727152
Item Number (DPCI): 247-40-6607
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



Reconstructionist Rory Moore and her psychologist partner, Lane Phillips, investigate a chilling murder in a prestigious prep school.



Book Synopsis



An Apple Books Best of the Month Selection
A
Publishers Weekly Summer Reads 2020 Editors' Pick

A Library Journal "12 Novels Featuring Protagonists on the Autism Spectrum" Selection

From #1 International Bestseller Charlie Donlea--A chilling murder in a prestigious prep school is at the heart of this riveting new suspense novel that's perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. Forensic reconstructionist Rory Moore and her psychologist partner, Lane Phillips, must chase down the truth behind the ghastly killings featured on the hit true crime podcast sweeping the nation. Can they uncover the hidden secrets of the school and the psychology of a killer before the next episode airs?

Inside the walls of Indiana's elite Westmont Preparatory High School, expectations run high and rules are strictly enforced. But in the woods beyond the manicured campus and playing fields sits an abandoned boarding house that is infamous among Westmont's students as a late-night hangout. Here, only one rule applies: don't let your candle go out--unless you want the Man in the Mirror to find you. . . .

One year ago, two students were killed there in a grisly slaughter. The case has since become the focus of a hit podcast, The Suicide House. Though a teacher was convicted of the murders, mysteries and questions remain. The most urgent among them is why so many students who survived that horrific night have returned to the boarding house--to kill themselves.

Rory, an expert in reconstructing cold cases, is working on The Suicide House podcast with Lane, recreating the night of the killings in order to find answers that have eluded the school, the town, and the police. But the more they learn about the troubled students, the chillingly stoic culprit, and a dangerous game gone tragically wrong, the more convinced they become that something sinister is still happening. Inside Westmont Prep, the game hasn't ended. It thrives on secrecy and silence. And for its players, there may be no way to win--or to survive. . . .

"Multiple intertwining story lines keep the pacing brisk and the tension high throughout. But the book's real strength is the idiosyncratic Rory, who suffers from OCD and is on the autism spectrum, a deeply developed character readers can't help rooting for. Hopefully, she'll be back soon."
--Publisher's Weekly



Review Quotes




PRAISE FOR THE NOVELS OF CHARLIE DONLEA

SOME CHOOSE DARKNESS

"In Donlea's skillful hands, this story of obsession, murder, and the search for truth is both a compassionate character study and a compelling thriller."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Engrossing. . . . Donlea smoothly mixes red herrings and genuine clues. Readers who relish a good puzzle will be rewarded."
--Publishers Weekly

"Part 1970s serial-killer thriller and part contemporary Chicago crime novel, this deceptively quick read has something for everyone."
--Booklist

"Suspense builds, clues mount and dangers lurks seemingly everywhere as the story nimbly toggles between then and now in Donlea's twisty-turny mystery."
--Bookpage

DON'T BELIEVE IT

"You can't blame Charlie Donlea if the ending of his novel makes your jaw drop. The title alone is fair warning that his characters are no more to be trusted than our initial impressions of them."
--The New York Times Book Review

THE GIRL WHO WAS TAKEN

"A fast-moving page-turner. . . . Donlea skillfully maximizes suspense by juggling narrators and time all the way to the shocking final twists."
--Publishers Weekly

SUMMIT LAKE

"Donlea keeps readers guessing throughout. The whodunit plot is clever and compelling . . . for fans of nonstop mysteries with a twist."
--Library Journal



About the Author



USA Today and #1 international bestselling author Charlie Donlea was born and raised in Chicago. He now lives in the suburbs with his wife and two young children. Readers can find him online at charliedonlea.com.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping options

Get it by Thu, May 20 with free Standard Shipping

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 6.2 inches width x 9.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.15 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.