The Walled Garden - by Robin Farrar Maass (Paperback)

The Walled Garden - by  Robin Farrar Maass (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
The Walled Garden - by  Robin Farrar Maass (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$16.79When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up

Number of Pages: 344

Format: Paperback

Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres

Sub-Genre: Coming of Age

Publisher: Sparkpress

Author: Robin Farrar Maass

Language: English

Street Date: May 17, 2022
TCIN: 84914167
UPC: 9781684631315
Item Number (DPCI): 247-34-2286
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



American grad student Lucy Silver comes to England to research Elizabeth Blackspear, a famous poet, but soon finds herself in a fight to save Blackspear's historic gardens, hot on the trail of a decades-old mystery, and in danger of falling for a hot Scot. Along the way, she discovers that her true home--and inheritance--are more incredible than anything she'd ever imagined.



Book Synopsis



Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, The Crown, and Downton Abbey.


American grad student Lucy Silver arrives in England hoping to solve a longstanding literary mystery, write her dissertation, and finish her graduate studies in a blaze of academic glory. But as Lucy starts to piece together the correspondence between her late grandmother and Elizabeth Blackspear, the famous poet and garden writer who's the subject of Lucy's dissertation, she discovers puzzling coded references in the letters--and when an elderly English aristocrat with a secret connection to Elizabeth offers Lucy access to a neglected walled garden on his estate, the mystery deepens.


As spring turns to summer in Bolton Lacey, Lucy finds herself fighting the Blackspear Gardens' director's attempt to deny her access to vital documents in the archives . . . and trying not to fall in love with an attractive Scottish contractor.


In the midst of this turmoil, she stumbles upon an illicit plot to turn the historic gardens into a theme park, and becomes determined to stop it. As she races against time to save the gardens, Lucy's search for the truth about Elizabeth's life leads her to a French convent where she uncovers explosive evidence that will change her life and the lives of everyone around her, ultimately revealing a home--and an inheritance--more incredible than anything she could ever have imagined.




Review Quotes




"A well researched love story with multiple plot twists."

--Booklist


"The narrative drops enough hints to ease the audience through its twists; anticipating the young detective's discoveries as she works toward a happy ending for her grandmother, her new friends, and herself is engaging. The Walled Garden is a gentle novel about forbidden love and the cost of keeping secrets."

--Foreword Reviews


"Maass' debut novel blends romance and poetry with the language of flowers....In addition to [Agatha] Christie, Maass' novel evokes Dan Brown's 2003 bestseller The Da Vinci Code, with suspense arising from poring over poetic passages as well as the study of flowers and plants."

--Kirkus Reviews


"Robin Farrar Maass is a terrific writer whose voice and vision will hold you captive from page one. But this mystery is more than a page-turner: it's also an exquisite portrait of a young woman who is, truly and finally, seeking to solve the mystery of herself and discover who she is. This is a wonderful book. Read it!"

--Bret Lott, New York Times best-selling author of Jewel and Dead Low Tide


"Part literary mystery, part love story, part gently ironic send-up of both, The Walled Garden captures our American tendency to romanticize all things British, particularly lush gardens, eccentric poets, Oxford, and aristocrats. Maass deftly manages to weave them all together is this witty, absorbing, warmly intelligent novel. One to savor on a long summer afternoon by the backyard roses."

--Suzanne Berne, author of The Dogs of Littlefield





"The Walled Garden is a truly atmospheric novel; it's a mystery with the lyrical beauty of a spring day and the yearning of a young and broken heart. . . . A joy to read both for the story that it tells and the way in which it tells it, The Walled Garden is a thoughtful, provocative piece not to be missed. Highly recommended."

--Readers Lane


"A remarkably well crafted and fully engaging story that deftly combines an historical mystery with elements of a coming of age saga and of college romance. A perfect choice for a summer recreational novel, The Walled Garden is an original, entertaining, and unreservedly recommended addition to community library collections."

--Midwest Book Review


If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.2 inches length x 5.5 inches width x 8.4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. If purchased online with SNAP EBT, this item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. This 90-day return window is required by SNAP.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads