Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

These Shallow Graves (Library) (Jennifer Donnelly)

These Shallow Graves (Library) (Jennifer Donnelly) - image 1 of 1

About this item

From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author ofA Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray,These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon—like all the girls in her class—she’ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer—a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie Bly.Wild aspirations aside, Jo’s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his pistol. One of New York City’s wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far too smart to clean a loaded gun. The more Jo hears about her father’s death, the more something feels wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people have started talking, but Jo’s father would never have resorted tothat. And then she meets Eddie—a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father’s newspaper—and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.Early Praise for These Shallow Graves:"These Shallow Graves delivered all that I adore: lovely prose, historical intrigue, unique chracters and setting. I devoured this book!"-Ruta Sepetys,New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Gray and Out of the Easy"An intelligent, personable heroine-Jo Montfort's hopes for an enlightened future uncover a dark past, resulting ina splendidly hair-raising tour of the brightest and darkest corners of Victorian New York."-Elizabeth Wein,New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity and Black Dove, White Raven"Jo Montfort is a gutsy modern heroine in a beguiling tale of old New York. Money, murder, betrayal, and family secrets....I loved spending time in this world!"-Elizabeth Ross, author of William C. Morris Award finalistBelle Epoque"A fast-paced Gilded Age crime thriller that plunges its intrepid investigative-journalist heroine into the sordid underworld of nineteenth-century New York City and into her own family's dark secrets."-Julie Berry, award-winning author ofAll the Truth That's In MeFrom the Hardcover edition.
From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author ofA Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray,These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.
Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon?like all the girls in her class?she?ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer?a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie Bly.
Wild aspirations aside, Jo?s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his pistol. One of New York City?s wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far too smart to clean a loaded gun.
The more Jo hears about her father?s death, the more something feels wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people have started talking, but Jo?s father would never have resorted tothat. And then she meets Eddie?a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father?s newspaper?and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.
The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.
Number of Pages: 487
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: History
Format: Library
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
Age Range: Teen
Author: Jennifer Donnelly
Language: English
Street Date: October 27, 2015
TCIN: 21511493
UPC: 9780385906791
Item Number (DPCI): 247-49-0662
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.