Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

These Shallow Graves (Reprint) (Paperback) (Jennifer Donnelly)

These Shallow Graves (Reprint) (Paperback) (Jennifer Donnelly) - image 1 of 1

About this item

[STAR] “Action-packed chapters propel this compelling mystery . . . [and] the injustices Donnelly highlights remain all too relevant.” —Publishers Weekly, StarredFrom Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author ofA Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray,These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.     Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon—like all the girls in her class—she’ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer—a newspaper reporter.Wild aspirations aside, Jo’s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. The story is that Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his revolver, but the more Jo hears about her father’s death, the more something feels wrong. And then she meets Eddie—a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father’s newspaper—and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.     The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.Praise for These Shallow GravesLovely prose, historical intrigue, unique characters and setting. I devoured this book!” —Ruta Sepetys,New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Gray and Out of the EasyA splendidly hair-raising tour of the brightest and darkest corners of Victorian New York.” —Elizabeth Wein,New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity and Black Dove, White RavenA fast-paced Gilded Age crime thriller.” —Julie Berry, award-winning author ofAll the Truth That’s In Me
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 487
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: History
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
Age Range: Teen
Author: Jennifer Donnelly
Language: English
Street Date: October 25, 2016
TCIN: 51858608
UPC: 9780385737661
Item Number (DPCI): 248-35-7667
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$10.99
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.