This Is Not the Jess Show - by Anna Carey

This Is Not the Jess Show - by Anna Carey - image 1 of 1
This Is Not the Jess Show - by Anna Carey - image 1 of 1
$8.39When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 14 Years
Number of Pages: 304
Format: Paperback
Series Title: This Is Not the Jess Show
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Thrillers & Suspense
Publisher: Quirk Books
Author: Anna Carey
Language: English
Street Date: February 1, 2022
TCIN: 83976669
UPC: 9781683692652
Item Number (DPCI): 247-05-1092
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



Book Synopsis



"A fantastically smart, funny, and thoughtful thriller."--Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times best-selling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star

The year is 1998: Titanic just won six Oscars, boy bands are dominating MTV's airwaves, and like any other teenager Jess Flynn is just trying to survive high school. Between a crush on her childhood best friend, overprotective parents, and her sister's worsening health, the only constant is her hometown of Swickley, which feels smaller by the day.

Jess is resigned to her small-town life, until the day she discovers a mysterious device with an apple logo, causing her to question everything and everyone she's ever known. As more cracks appear in Jess's world, she faces a choice: can she live the rest of her life knowing it's a lie, or should she risk everything for the truth?

A fast-paced, mind-bending YA thriller packed with '90s pop culture references and perfect for fans of Riverdale, This Is Not the Jess Show will keep readers guessing until the very end.

Now in paperback, with an excerpt from the explosive and thrilling conclusion, This Is Not the Real World!



Review Quotes




A 2022 Hal Clement Notable Young Adult Book
Named one of Brightly's Best YA Books Being Published in 2021
One of New York Public Library's Best Books of 2021
A 2022-2023 South Carolina Young Adult Book Award Nominee

"It's a dark and distorted mirror of our own extremely strange times, perfect reading for anyone who wants to feel seen without necessarily needing to be looked at."--Shondaland

"I read this in a single, compulsive sitting. A fantastically smart, funny, and thoughtful thriller about how our devices manipulate and exploit our closest relationships."--Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun Is Also a Star

"At once thought-provoking and hilarious, This Is Not the Jess Show is a timely, incisive book so masterfully-plotted you won't want to put it down."--Tahereh Mafi, New York Times Bestselling author of the Shatter Me series and A Very Large Expanse of Sea

"Nostalgic, romantic, thrilling, and with an exciting twist, I devoured This Is Not The Jess Show and didn't want it to end!"--Sara Shepard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Little Liars and The Lying Game

"I read this book in under 24 hours, if that tells you anything about how thrilling and addictive it is. It has so many smart, insightful things to say about celebrity culture and the entertainment industry."--The Nerd Daily

"A thrilling and thought-provoking ride."--Kirkus Reviews

"This is Not the Jess Show goes deep in exploring how people live their lives and create their own realities--sometimes at a cost."--Foreword Reviews

"The fast-paced, intricate plot ramps up Jess's paranoia and frustration, both of which are vividly expressed through her first-person narrative."--Booklist

"A fun and thoughtful thriller; this YA novel will please fans of E. Lockhart and Kiera Cass."--School Library Journal

"Fast paced and thrilling."--Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books

"This young adult foray offers up surprising plot twists that keep you riveted and reading quickly, with the clever unfolding plot paralleling Jim Carey's The Truman Show."--Mom Central



About the Author



Anna Carey is the author of Blackbird, Deadfall, and the Eve trilogy. She lives in Los Angeles.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.2 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.65 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy Choices - CAInterest Based Ads