Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

To Funk and Die in LA - (D Hunter Mystery) by Nelson George (Paperback)

To Funk and Die in LA -  (D Hunter Mystery) by Nelson George (Paperback) - image 1 of 1

About this item

"Ex-bodyguard D Hunter travels from Brooklyn to Los Angeles to investigate the circumstances surrounding his grandfather's murder in the fourth entry in this series by critic and journalist George...read this for its passionate and unresolved argument about the still-beating heart of R&B."
--Kirkus Reviews

"George explores funk in his fine fourth novel featuring D Hunter, New York bodyguard and, by virtue of his jobs and interests, music historian."--Publishers Weekly

"Critic and journalist George knows the streets and his work has a gritty feel that will hold readers' attention. Name-dropping of 1970s and 1980s performers such as the Dazz Band, Shalamar, and Chaka Khan adds spice to this well-crafted mystery."
--Library Journal XPress Reviews

"A must-read!"--BookRiot

"To Funk and Die in LA is a supercharged spin through the dynamic, ever-changing neighborhoods of urban LA. Nelson George's new book is full of music, secrets, heart, and more than a little heartbreak."--Nina Revoyr, author of Southland

"Inventive and well-written...I really enjoyed To Funk and Die in LA."--Don Winslow, author of Savages

Praise for the D Hunter Series:

"D Hunter is as world weary, yet steadfast, as Philip Marlowe, Spenser, Dave Robicheaux, or Easy Rawlins."
--Library Journal (starred review, Pick of the Month)

"Written in the spirit of authors such as Walter Mosley and Donald Goines...The book blends music from the past with thug appeal of the present to appeal to young and old alike."
--Baltimore Times, on The Lost Treasures of R&B

To Funk and Die in LA, the fourth book in the D Hunter crime-fiction series, brings the ex-bodyguard to the City of Angels on a very dark mission when his grandfather, businessman Daniel "Big Danny" Hunter, is shot dead in a drive-by. Why would someone execute a grocery store owner? D soon finds there was more to Big Danny's life than selling loaves of bread. The old man, it turns out, was deeply involved with Dr. Funk, a legendary musical innovator who has become a mysterious recluse.

Most of the novel takes place in the LA neighborhoods of Crenshaw, Koreatown, and Pico-Union--areas where black, Asian, and Latino cultures intersect away from the glamour of Hollywood--and echoes of the 1992 riots play a significant role in D's investigation. In the tradition of Raymond Chandler and Walter Mosley, D Hunter rides through the mean streets of Los Angeles seeking truth and not always finding justice.

Number of Pages: 276
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Series Title: D Hunter Mystery
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Consortium Book Sales & Dist
Author: Nelson George
Language: English
Street Date: September 5, 2017
TCIN: 52776144
UPC: 9781617755866
Item Number (DPCI): 248-47-7675
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$10.84
MSRPReg: $15.95 Save $5.11 (32% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.