Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

To Think of Her Writing Awash in Light (Paperback) (Linda Russo)

To Think of Her Writing Awash in Light (Paperback) (Linda Russo) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Literary Nonfiction. Poetry. Hybrid Genre. Women's Studies. The inventive and lyrical essays that comprise TO THINK OF HER WRITING AWASH IN LIGHT take up the work of four women writers—Dorothy Wordsworth, Emily Dickinson, Hettie Jones, and Anne Waldman—to recast literary histories and illuminate anew the matter of the lives lived alongside and through poetry. Analyzing and re-imagining moments in the shift in definition over two centuries—beginning with Wordsworth's 1800 journals and ending with the completion of Waldman's epic Iovis Trilogy in 2012—they highlight the changing role of women as they emerge from the margins of literary production to take up the work of being poets. That is the primary lens these essays create, in the process investigating the essayist-poet's relationship to her materials, pushing at the boundaries of critical and creative writing."The often thought to be ephemeral parts of a gendered writing life are made major in Linda Russo's TO THINK OF HER WRITING AWASH IN LIGHT. She spends time with the edits of Dorothy Wordsworth's journals, with Emily Dickinson's desk and her envelopes, with Hettie Jones's typing of Yugen as editing, with reading out loud as she writes of reading from Anne Waldman's epicIovis with Joanne Kyger. In the tradition of Susan Howe and Lisa Robertson, it's a book that might be essay and might be literary criticism and might just be a love poem too. It surprises and delights with its serious beauty."—Juliana Spahr
Number of Pages: 65
Genre: Literary Criticism
Sub-Genre: General
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Small Pr Distribution
Author: Linda Russo
Language: English
Street Date: April 1, 2016
TCIN: 51102397
UPC: 9780990661245
Item Number (DPCI): 248-15-6231
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$17.09
MSRPwas $18.00

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.