Trucker and Train - by Hannah Stark (Hardcover)

Trucker and Train - by  Hannah Stark (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
Trucker and Train - by  Hannah Stark (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
$14.29When purchased online

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 4-7 Years
Number of Pages: 40
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Social Themes
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Clarion Books
Book theme: Bullying
Author: Hannah Stark
Language: English
Street Date: August 6, 2019
TCIN: 76390250
UPC: 9780544801813
Item Number (DPCI): 248-26-7688
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



Kindness and friendship triumph over bullying in this action-packed story that's perfect for fans of Little Blue Truck and Loren Long's Otis stories, and for every vehicle-obsessed little one.



Book Synopsis



Kindness and friendship triumph over bullying in this action-packed story that's perfect for fans of Little Blue Truck and Loren Long's Otis stories, and for every vehicle-obsessed little one.

Trucker, the big rig, loves to rule the road with his size, strength, and mighty horn. The other vehicles swerve and shake as Trucker blasts past, expecting them to follow along in awe. Then Trucker meets the louder, stronger, and kinder Train. He sees how the other vehicles gleam and swoon when Train is around. And he wonders, Why don't they ever gleam at me?

Trucker just wants Train to go away . . . until a broken railroad crossing signal changes everything. Can Trucker use his size and strength for the good of his fellow vehicles before it's too late?

Perfect for fans of Little Blue Truck and Loren Long's Otis stories, Trucker and Train is a classic in the making.



Review Quotes




"Grab your CB radios and hold onto your whistle. In this battle of truck vs. train, the true winners are the readers."--Kirkus "With frequent onomatopoeia, debut author Stark handles Trucker's complex emotions with gentle sympathy....You don't have to rule the road to be a hero, Stark and Kolar suggest, and that's probably for the best."--Publishers Weekly "The relationship between the trucker and other vehicles illustrates the complex dynamic of jealousy, admiration, and friendship among peers. A wonderful and fun addition to any library collection."--School Library Journal --




About the Author



Hannah Stark is a teacher in Brooklyn, NY, who loves to take road trips and train rides with her sons. This is her first book.

hannahcarinastark.com
Twitter: @teachingrightalong

Bob Kolar creates books, toys, games, and TV shows for kids. He lives in Missouri.

bobkolarbooks.com
Instagram: @bobkolar

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 0.5 inches length x 11.2 inches width x 9.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.9 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.
5.0 out of 5 stars with 7 reviews
100% would recommend
7 recommendations

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Richard - 3 years ago
Loud, proud Trucker revels in being the king of the road—until the arrival of Train knocks him off his throne! But Trucker soon learns that selflessness is far more satisfying than showing off. Hannah Stark's charming debut uses fun wordplay and expressive art by Bob Kolar to bring a bevy of vehicles to life. Sure to appeal to all fans of things that go VROOM!
Did you find this review helpful?

For All Little Vehicle Lovers!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Sha - 3 years ago
Trucker is big, loud, and fast. So is Train. So why do all the other vehicles think Train is so great? And can Trucker save the day when a broken gate puts them all in danger? TRUCKER AND TRAIN is such a fun read-aloud for kids who love anything on wheels or tracks. Stark’s action-packed story is full of suspense, Kolar’s bright, cartoony illustrations are sure to make kids smile. Bonus: a wee bit of math is snuck in, with counting by twos!
Did you find this review helpful?

lovely story and illustrations

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Stephanie - 4 years ago
I know my train and truck-obsessed kids will love this book for the story about how might doesn't equal right unless you can use it it to benefit others as well as for the entrancing illustrations. The climax coming at a train crossing will especially appeal to them as we have endless discussions about how to be safe around crossings and what happens if the crossings break. This will delight and comfort many children who think similarly.
Did you find this review helpful?

Who's the king of the road?

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
KidLit Book Reviewer - 4 years ago
Size, strength and sound are the super-sized attributes that lead Trucker to think he's the king of the road. But maybe it's his heart and head that really steal the spotlight? A tale of empathy, thoughtfulness and putting the needs of others beyond your own that will chug into the hearts of road, track and transportation fans of all ages!
Did you find this review helpful?

Perfect for the truck and train enthusiasts in your life!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Marcie - 4 years ago
This book is for anyone who loves a good truck or train story (or one with BOTH beloved vehicles in the same read aloud). This story will grab at your heartstrings--maybe even make you love the mammoth eighteen wheelers. With a plethora of fun word choices and onomatopoeia that begs this book to be read aloud, it will be at the top of your book pile. A great birthday present book! A great storytime book for libraries! And a great bedtime book!
Did you find this review helpful?

Loads of fun!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Cassandra - 4 years ago
I read this book to my son (a big fan of both trucks and trains) and we absolutely loved it! The sound of the chugging train isn't your typical "choo choo" noise, but a much more fun and accurate: tic-a-tic-a-clack, tic-a-tic-a-clack, woooooo wooooo! This will be a repeat read in my house for sure!
Did you find this review helpful?

(no review title)

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Sarah - 4 years ago
Perfect for the preschool aged vehicle loving set! Cute story plot with a subtle message about bullying and using our talents for good.
Did you find this review helpful?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy Choices - CAInterest Based Ads