product description page

Ungifted (Hardcover) (Gordon Korman)

Ungifted (Hardcover) (Gordon Korman) - image 1 of 1
$10.89
MSRPReg: $16.99 Save $6.10 (36% off)

about this item

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel in which one middle-school troublemaker accidentally moves into the gifted and talented program—and changes everything. For fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos, this funny and touching underdog story is a lovable and goofy adventure with robot fights, middle-school dances, live experiments, and statue-toppling pranks!

When Donovan Curtis pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he’s finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a special program for gifted and talented students.

Although it wasn’t exactly what Donovan had intended, the ASD couldn’t be a more perfectly unexpected hideout for someone like him. But as the students and teachers of ASD grow to realize that Donovan may not be good at math or science (or just about anything), he shows that his gifts may be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed. 

VOYA
Middle school class cut-up and troublemaker, Donovan Curtis, has never been recognized as anything but a mediocre student until a monumental mix-up has him placed at the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a magnet school for his district's gifted and talented students. Upon meeting the gifted and talented students, Donovan quickly realizes he has entered the "Isle of Misfit Toys." Using alternate voices in each chapter, well-known author Korman introduces the Academy of Scholastic Distinction's quirky cast of characters. Donovan becomes part of a robotics team which includes: Chloe, a smart girl who yearns for the "normal" existence of a middle school student; Noah, a genius who longs to go to the public school and tries to flunk every test; and Abigail, the overachiever who will stop at nothing to guarantee an Ivy League college admission. With the arrival of Donovan, the robotics team is taken over by his infectious charm and as a result, learns to loosen up and enjoy being teens. Humor fills this book; younger teens will appreciate the laugh-out-loud antics of Donovan and his new friends. Touching, without being overly sentimental, Ungifted is a gem for readers looking for a story where the underdog comes out on top. Reviewer: Adrienne Amborski
Number of Pages: 280.0
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: Robotics
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Harpercollins Childrens Books
Age Range: 9-12 years
Author: Gordon Korman
Language: English
Street Date: August 21, 2012
TCIN: 14134492
UPC: 9780061742668
Item Number (DPCI): 247-07-4470

guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.