Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Uninterrupted View of the Sky - by Melanie Crowder (Hardcover)

Uninterrupted View of the Sky -  by Melanie Crowder (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Modern history unearthed as a boy becomes an innocent victim of corruption in Bolivia's crime world, where the power of family is both a prison and a means of survival.It's 1999 in Bolivia and Francisco's life consists of school, soccer, and trying to find space for himself in his family's cramped yet boisterous home. But when his father is arrested on false charges and sent to prison by a corrupt system that targets the uneducated, the poor, and the indigenous majority, Francisco and his sister are left with no choice: They must move into prison with their father. There, they find a world unlike anything they've ever known, where everything—a door, a mattress, protection from other inmates—has its price. Prison life is dirty, dire, and dehumanizing. With their lives upended, Francisco faces an impossible decision: Break up the family and take his sister to their grandparents in the Andean highlands, fleeing the city and the future within his grasp, or remain together in the increasingly dangerous prison. Pulled between two undesirable options, Francisco must confront everything he once believed about the world and his place within it. In this heart-wrenching novel, Melanie Crowder sheds light on a little-known era of modern South American history—where injustice still looms large—and proves that hope can be found, even in the most desperate places.Perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys, Matt de la Pena, and Jacqueline Woodson.Praise for An Uninterrupted View of the Sky:★ "Crowder delivers a disturbing portrait of innocent families trapped in corrupt systems, as well as a testament to the strength of enduring cultural traditions and the possibility of finding family in the unlikeliest places."—Publishers Weekly, starred review★ "Readers will feel utterly invested in Francisco's various challenges...A riveting, Dickensian tale."—Kirkus, starred review★ "Themes of poverty, social injustice...violence toward women, coming-of-age, romantic love, and a sliver of precarious hope are woven into the plot...[An] important addition to libraries."—School Library Journal, starred review"[A] trenchant novel...This hard-hitting, ultimately hopeful story will open readers’ eyes to a lesser-known historical moment and the far-reaching implications of U.S. policy."—Booklist"[This novel] is raw, gripping, poetic and bold....Crowder takes you on an emotional pilgrimage that you won’t want to end."—RT Book Reviews, five-starred reviewPraise for Audacity:2015 National Jewish Book Award finalistWashington Post Best Children’s Poetry BookNew York Public Library Best Book for TeensILA Notable Book for a Global SocietyALA Top 10 Best Fiction for Young Adults PickALSC N
Number of Pages: 289
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Sub-Genre: History
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
Age Range: Teen
Author: Melanie Crowder
Language: English
Street Date: June 13, 2017
TCIN: 52499293
UPC: 9780399169007
Item Number (DPCI): 248-46-2670
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$12.59
MSRPwas $17.99
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.