Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

United States V. Jackie Robinson - by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen (School And Library)

United States V. Jackie Robinson -  by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen (School And Library) - image 1 of 1

About this item

A moving and inspiring nonfiction picture book about Jackie Robinson’s court martial trial—an important lesser-known moment in his lifetime of fighting prejudice with strength and grace—from author Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and award-winning illustrator R. Gregory Christie. Perfect for fans of Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, The Story of Ruby Bridges, and Martin’s Big Words.

Jackie Robinson broke boundaries as the first African American player in Major League Baseball. But long before Jackie changed the world in a Dodger uniform, he did it in an army uniform.

As a soldier during World War II, Jackie experienced segregation every day—separate places for black soldiers to sit, to eat, and to live. When the army outlawed segregation on military posts and buses, things were supposed to change.

So when Jackie was ordered by a white bus driver to move to the back of a military bus, he refused. Instead of defending Jackie’s rights, the military police took him to trial. But Jackie would stand up for what was right, even when it was difficult to do.

Number of Pages: 1
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction
Sub-Genre: History
Format: Library
Publisher: Harpercollins Childrens Books
Age Range: 4-8 years
Author: Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen
Language: English
Street Date: January 2, 2018
TCIN: 52997165
UPC: 9780062287847
Item Number (DPCI): 248-50-5121
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$17.09
MSRPwas $17.99
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.