Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Up from the Sea (Reprint) (Paperback) (Leza Lowitz)

Up from the Sea (Reprint) (Paperback) (Leza Lowitz) - image 1 of 1

About this item

A powerful novel-in-verse about how one teen boy survives the March 2011 tsunami that devastates his coastal Japanese village  “Successfully captures the raw emotions of loss, grief, and what it means to move forward.” —BuzzFeed  On the day the tsunami strikes, Kai loses nearly everyone and everything he cares about. But a trip to New York to meet kids whose lives were changed by 9/11 gives him new hope and the chance to look for his estranged American father. Visiting Ground Zero on its tenth anniversary, Kai learns that the only way to make something good come out of disaster is to return and rebuild.   Heartrending yet hopeful, Up from the Sea is a story about loss, survival, and starting anew.    Fans of Jewell Parker Rhodes’s Ninth Ward and Karen Hesse’s Out of the Dust will embrace this moving story. An author’s note includes numerous sources detailing actual events portrayed in the story.Praise for Up From the Sea:“Up From the Sea touched me deeply with its beautiful message of hope and the resilience of humanity. Bravo.” —Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy series   “It is a moving story of the rebirth of hope in a teen who has lost almost everything. . . . Kai will resonate with teens on a simple human level, just as 3/11 resonates with 9/11.” —VOYAFrom the Hardcover edition.
Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 272
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Random House Childrens Books
Age Range: Teen
Author: Leza Lowitz
Language: English
Street Date: January 17, 2017
TCIN: 51541837
UPC: 9780553534771
Item Number (DPCI): 248-23-2855
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$9.99
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.