product description page

Utopia of Rules : On Technology, Stupidity, and the Secret Joys of Bureaucracy (Reprint) (Paperback)

$11.52
MSRPReg: $16.95 Save $5.43 (32% off)
shipping to 94043
get it by Tue, May 1 with standard shipping.
free order pickup not available
not sold at Manhattan Herald Square

GiftNow® - give as a gift
send today or schedule it via email

about this item

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our livesWhere does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence?To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber—one of our most important and provocative thinkers—traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice…though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing—even romantic—about bureaucracy.Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman,The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible.An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

more to consider

  • Citizen's Guide to Impeachment (Paperback) (Barbara A. Radnofsky)

    $7.40

  • stupidity paradox : The power and pitfalls of functional stupidity at work (Paperback) (Mats Alvesson &

    $10.84

  • U.S. Constitution : Explained-Clause by Clause-for Every American Today (Reprint) (Paperback) (Ray

    $7.38

  • Without Precedent : Chief Justice John Marshall and His Times -  by Joel Richard Paul (Hardcover)

    $19.49

  • Don't Bullsh*t Yourself! : Crush the Excuses That Are Holding You Back -  by Jon Taffer (Hardcover)

    $17.10

recommended

  • SheaMoisture® Mongongo & Hemp Seed Oils High Porosity Moisture-Seal Shampoo - 13 fl oz

    $10.99

  • 2018 TF Publishing Desk Calendar

  • Employment Discrimination (Paperback) (Joel Wm. Friedman)

    $50.30

  • Thousands : Poems (Paperback) (Lightsey Darst)

    $11.56

  • Love Print Throw Pillow Collection - Surya

    $25.49 - $33.99


from the manufacturer


guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.