product description page

Very Worst Missionary : A Memoir or Whatever - by Jamie Wright (Paperback)

$11.00
MSRPReg: $16.00 Save $5.00 (31% off)
shipping to 94043
get it by Mon, Apr 30 with standard shipping.
free order pickup not available
not sold at Manhattan Herald Square

GiftNow® - give as a gift
send today or schedule it via email

about this item

“The reason you love Jamie (or are about to) is because she says exactly what the rest of us are thinking, but we’re too afraid to upset the apple cart. She is a voice for the outlier, and we’re famished for what she has to say.” --Jen Hatmaker, New York Times bestselling author of Of Mess and Moxie and For the Love  Wildly popular blogger "Jamie the Very Worst Missionary" delivers a searing, offbeat, often hilarious memoir of spiritual disintegration and re-formation.  As a quirky Jewish kid and promiscuous punkass teen, Jamie Wright never imagines becoming a Christian, let alone a Christian missionary. She is barely an adult when the trials of motherhood and marriage put her on an unexpected collision course with Jesus. After finding her faith at a suburban megachurch, Jamie trades in the easy life on the cul-de-sac for the green fields of Costa Rica. There, along with her family, she earnestly hopes to serve God and change lives. But faced with a yawning culture gap and persistent shortcomings in herself and her fellow workers, she soon loses confidence in the missionary enterprise and falls into a funk of cynicism and despair. Nearly paralyzed by depression, yet still wanting to make a difference, she decides to tell the whole, disenchanted truth: Missionaries ****** and our work makes no sense at all! From her sofa in Central America, she launches a renegade blog, Jamie the Very Worst Missionary, and against all odds wins a large and passionate following. Which leads her to see that maybe a "bad" missionary--awkward, doubtful, and vocal—is exactly what the world and the throngs of American do-gooders need.  The Very Worst Missionary is a disarming, ultimately inspiring spiritual memoir for well-intentioned contrarians everywhere. It will appeal to readers of Nadia Bolz-Weber, Jen Hatmaker, Ann Lamott, Jana Reiss, Mallory Ortberg, and Rachel Held Evans.

more to consider

  • Meaty : Essays -  Reprint by Samantha Irby (Paperback)

    $10.97

  • This Will Be My Undoing : Living at the Intersection of Black, Female, and Feminist in (White) America

    $10.99

  • Educated : A Memoir -  by Tara Westover (Hardcover)

    $19.60

  • This Is Me : Loving the Person You Are Today (Hardcover) (Chrissy Metz)

    $18.89

  • Very Worst Missionary : A Memoir or Whatever -  by Jamie Wright (MP3-CD)

    $19.49

recommended

  • SheaMoisture® Mongongo & Hemp Seed Oils High Porosity Moisture-Seal Shampoo - 13 fl oz

    $10.99

  • 2018 TF Publishing Desk Calendar

  • Employment Discrimination (Paperback) (Joel Wm. Friedman)

    $50.30

  • Thousands : Poems (Paperback) (Lightsey Darst)

    $11.56

  • Love Print Throw Pillow Collection - Surya

    $20.99 - $27.99


from the manufacturer


guest reviews

1
overall: 5 out of 5 stars, see all reviews

most recent reviews

Funny memoir

(would recommend)
5 out of 5 stars
Somebody — 21 days ago
This book was super funny! Jamie’s honesty about her path had me alternately laughing and wincing at every turn. Her creative use of profanity taught me a few new phrases too.  see moreof Somebody's review
    Do you find this helpful?
    yes (0)no (0)report

    Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.