Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Watchfires (Paperback) (Hilary Plum)

Watchfires (Paperback) (Hilary Plum) - image 1 of 1

About this item

Literary Nonfiction. Fiction. Hilary Plum's WATCHFIRES is an intimate account of public and private life during the long years of the "war on terror." This remarkable essay begins in the aftermath of the Boston Marathon bombing and illuminates the relationships among cancer, autoimmune disease, the Iraq War, the Arab Spring, Occupy, veteran suicide, the American epidemic of gun violence, and Plum's family history. The result is an urgent inquiry—philosophical, political, and personal—into the maladies of our age.

"Hilary Plum's memoir WATCHFIRES is a tender, twisted, darkly vibrant meditation on the war on terror as autoimmune disease. A quiet work of genius, as hopeful in its punishing honesty as it is rueful in its dire beauty, WATCHFIRES warns, remembers, regrets, recovers. Plum can taste our febrile paranoia and writes it inside out."—Roy Scranton

"Hilary Plum's WATCHFIRES derives its title from the military practice of lighting a large fire after a battle, to help those lost to locate the group. How apt, given how lost we are. Composed of paragraph pyres, WATCHFIRES illuminates the illness of our bodies and our body politic. In the wake of the Boston Marathon bombing and of the private illnesses that the author and her family have endured, WATCHFIRES poses poignant and essential questions about our age: where does the self begin and end? Who is the other if not my own (other-abled) body? Is terrorism a political act or a cancer? In the tradition of Virginia Woolf, Susan Sontag, Simone Weil, and William Stafford, Plum shores these half-fictive, all-true fragments against the ruins of our humanity, lost islands in the age of terrorism and autoimmunity."—Philip Metres

"Hilary Plum is a remarkably natural essayist and WATCHFIRES is teeming with wisdom, depth, and ache. Flitting among a half-dozen topics with organic ease and wonder, Plum's work is oblique but always precise, personal and utterly controlled—imagine what Virginia Woolf might have written if she'd been intimately familiar with the Boston Marathon bombing, having a partner suffering from cancer, and the forever wars. If there's any justice in the reading world, this book will be read broadly and passed between admirers for decades to come."—Daniel Torday
Number of Pages: 192
Genre: Literary Collections
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Small Pr Distribution
Author: Hilary Plum
Language: English
Street Date: November 1, 2016
TCIN: 52149683
UPC: 9780986086953
Item Number (DPCI): 248-42-5150
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$15.20
MSRPReg: $16.00 Save $0.80 (5% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.