Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

We Are Gathered - by Jamie Weisman (Hardcover)

We Are Gathered -  by Jamie Weisman (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1

About this item

"For readers of Maggie Shipstead and Maria Semple, a tender and funny debut that tells the story of an interfaith wedding in Atlanta -- from the perspectives of its (adoring, envious, resentful, hilarious) guests...One afternoon in Atlanta, Georgia. Two people heading to the altar. One hundred fifty guests. The bride, Elizabeth Gottlieb, proud graduate of the University of Virginia and of Emory University School of Law, member of Atlanta's wealthy Jewish elite. The groom, Hank Jackson, not a member. Not a Jew. The couple of the hour, however, is beside the point, because We Are Gathered belongs to the guests. Among them, Carla, Elizabeth's quick-witted, ugly duckling childhood best friend turned Hollywood film scout, whose jaundiced view of the drama that is an American wedding provides a lens of humor and its corollary, deep compassion for the supporting actors who steal the show; Elizabeth's great-aunt Rachel, a Holocaust survivor from Germany who is still navigating a no-man's-land between cultures and identities decades after escaping from the forests of Europe; Elizabeth's wheelchair-bound grandfather Albert, who considers his legacy as a man, both in the boardroom and the bedroom; and Annette, the mother of the bride herself, reminded now of her youthful indiscretions in love and motherhood. Balancing razor-sharp humor with a blunt vision ofthe fragility of ourmortal bonds, Jamie Weisman skillfully constructs a world--and family--that pulls you in and carries you along with its refreshing, jagged beauty"--
Number of Pages: 275
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Weddings
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Author: Jamie Weisman
Language: English
Street Date: June 5, 2018
TCIN: 53452015
UPC: 9781328793294
Item Number (DPCI): 248-68-8297
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$16.32
MSRPReg: $24.00 Save $7.68 (32% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.