Loading, please wait...

We Were Kings - by Court Stevens (Hardcover)

We Were Kings - by  Court Stevens (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
We Were Kings - by  Court Stevens (Hardcover) - image 1 of 1
new at target

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 400

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Mysteries & Detective Stories

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

Age Range: Teen

Author: Court Stevens

Language: English

Street Date: February 1, 2022
TCIN: 84910611
UPC: 9780785238485
Item Number (DPCI): 247-33-5446
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



A twenty-year-old crime, an accelerated death penalty, and an elitist family cover-up: Nyla races against the death row clock to save a woman the world is rooting for . . . and against. Which side will you choose?



Book Synopsis



A twenty-year-old crime, an accelerated death penalty, and an elitist family cover-up: Nyla races against the death row clock to save a woman the world is rooting for . . . and against. Which side will you choose?

Twenty years ago, eighteen-year-old Francis Quick was convicted of murdering her best friend, Cora King, and sentenced to death. Now the highly debated Accelerated Death Penalty Act has passed giving Frankie thirty final days to live. Surprising everyone, one of the King family members sets out to challenge the woefully inadequate evidence and potential innocence of Frankie Quick.

The at-first reluctant but soon-fiery Nyla and her unexpected ally--handsome country island boy Sam Stack--bring Frankie's case to the international stage through her YouTube channel, Death Daze. They step into fame and a hometown battle that someone's still willing to kill over. But who? The senator? The philanthropist? The pawn shop owner? Nyla's own mother?

Best advice: Don't go to family dinner at the Kings' estate. More people will leave in body bags than on their own two feet. And as for Frankie Quick, she's a gem . . . even if she's guilty.

Praise for We Were Kings:

"We Were Kings is the best kind of mystery novel--intelligent and bursting with heart. As Nyla untangled her family's secrets, the twists left me breathless." --Brittany Cavallaro, New York Times bestselling author

"Bingeable. Atmospheric. A book that grabs hold and doesn't let go. We Were Kings offers a delicious mystery perfect for fans of We Were Liars and A Good Girl's Guide to Murder. I savored every word from beginning to end." --Caroline George, author of The Summer We Forgot

  • Young Adult suspense with some romance
  • Stand-alone novel
  • Includes discussion questions for book clubs
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.5 inches width x 8.38 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.