Loading, please wait...

What Beauty There Is - by Cory Anderson

What Beauty There Is - by Cory Anderson - image 1 of 1
What Beauty There Is - by Cory Anderson - image 1 of 1
Format Hardcover

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 368

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Coming of Age

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Roaring Brook Press

Author: Cory Anderson

Language: English

Street Date: April 6, 2021
TCIN: 79754616
UPC: 9781250268099
Item Number (DPCI): 247-44-4276
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



A stunning debut novel about brutality and beauty, and about broken people trying to survive--perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Laura Ruby, and Meg Rosoff.



Book Synopsis



What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA novel about brutality and beauty, and about broken people trying to survive--Intense, brutal, and searingly honest, What Beauty There Is is perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Laura Ruby, and Meg Rosoff.

To understand the truth, you have to start at the beginning.

Winter in Idaho. The sky is dark. It is cold enough to crack bones.

Living in harsh poverty, Jack Dahl is holding his breath. He and his younger brother have nothing--except each other. With his father incarcerated and his mother addicted to opiods, Jack faces a stark choice: lose his brother to foster care or find the drug money that sent his father to prison.

He chooses the money.

Ava Bardem lives in isolation, a life of silence. For seventeen years Ava's father, an abusive and merciless man, has controlled her fate. He has taught her to love no one. Now Victor Bardem is stalking the same money as Jack. When he picks up on Jack's trail, Ava must make her own wrenching choice: remain silent or speak, and help the brothers survive.

Choices. They come at a price.



Review Quotes




Beautifully written and superbly constructed, Anderson pulls you onto a chilling footpath of love and loss--and keeps you there until you've read every last word. --Ruta Sepetys, #1 New York Times bestselling author and Carnegie Medal winner of Salt to the Sea

A -gorgeous, intense, and shocking look at chaos, survival, fate, and betrayal... A first purchase and a must-read. Prepare to be haunted and chilled to the bone by this exceptional story. --School Library Journal starred review

Intense, brutal, and searingly honest, Anderson's debut features intricate plotting and action that hold up against the best thriller novels, yet it is all the more remarkable for its tender, multidimensional characterization and sharp, crystalline prose. Riveting and unforgettable. --Kirkus starred review

Debut author [Cory] Anderson captures the setting and souls of her characters through her sparse yet lyrical text, creating a suspenseful, throbbing tale of love and survival, choices and consequences. Told in alternating voices, this powerful story will mesmerize. --Booklist starred review

Readers who like their novels pitch dark and bone chilling will revel in the horrifying villain and the trio of kids locked into a dilemma they cannot possibly resolve. --The Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books

Anderson's starkly atmospheric thriller illuminates ways in which cycles of poverty and incarceration can disenfranchise children. --Publishers Weekly

[A] taut psychological thriller. Anderson's spare, lyrical writing yields great insight into her characters, and the unforgiving Idaho winter landscape is almost a character in its own right. - Horn Book




About the Author



Cory Anderson is a winner of the League of Utah Writers Young Adult Novel Award and Grand Prize in the Storymakers Conference First Chapter Contest. She lives in Utah with her family. What Beauty There Is is her debut novel.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.4 inches length x 5.4 inches width x 8.4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.95 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Northern Mariana Islands, United States Minor Outlying Islands, APO/FPO, Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Guam (see also separate entry under GU), Virgin Islands, U.S.

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars with 3 reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.