Loading, please wait...

What Big Teeth - by Rose Szabo

What Big Teeth - by Rose Szabo - image 1 of 1
What Big Teeth - by Rose Szabo - image 1 of 1
Format Hardcover

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 400

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Fantasy

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr)

Book theme: Dark Fantasy

Author: Rose Szabo

Language: English

Street Date: February 2, 2021
TCIN: 79754567
UPC: 9780374314309
Item Number (DPCI): 247-44-4226
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



Returning to Maine after years at boarding school, Eleanor Zarrin barely remembers her monstrous family, but she sets off a series of events that could destroy them all.



Book Synopsis



A Strand February 2021 Book of the Month

With a layered mystery, a haunting setting, and thrilling tension, What Big Teeth has an otherness to it that pulls you in and forces you to keep reading. --Tricia Levenseller, Publisher's Weekly-bestselling author of The Shadows Between Us

Eleanor Zarrin has been estranged from her wild family for years. When she flees boarding school after a horrifying incident, she goes to the only place she thinks is safe: the home she left behind. But when she gets there, she struggles to fit in with her monstrous relatives, who prowl the woods around the family estate and read fortunes in the guts of birds.

Eleanor finds herself desperately trying to hold the family together--in order to save them all, Eleanor must learn to embrace her family of monsters and tame the darkness inside her.

Rose Szabo's thrilling debut is a dark fantasy novel about a teen girl who returns home to her strange, wild family after years of estrangement, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls. This exquisitely terrifying and beautiful tale will sink its teeth into you and never let go.



Review Quotes




*A Strand February YA Book of the Month

With a layered mystery, a haunting setting, and thrilling tension, What Big Teeth has an otherness to it that pulls you in and forces you to keep reading. -- Tricia Levenseller, Publisher's Weekly-bestselling author of The Shadows Between Us

Deliciously gothic and wonderfully creepy. -- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, STARRED REVIEW

... one part haunting mystery, one part dark fantasy ... This darkly thrilling gothic fantasy will appeal to fans of Karen McManus and Maggie Stiefvater alike. -- School Library Journal

A tale so gorgeously twisty, it'll turn you inside out. -- Tor.com

Gazes into [the] darkness to face the monster that dwells within. -- NPR Books

A complete ghostly chill that deserves ten stars. -- The Nerd Daily

Has bite--and will leave you feeling dazed. -- Forever YA

A hauntingly thrilling read. -- The Lineup

A fascinating debut. -- PopSugar

[An] inventive concept -- Den of Geek

Not your typical YA fantasy. -- Culturess




About the Author



Rose Szabo is a nonbinary writer from Richmond, VA, where they live with an assortment of people and animals. They have an MA in English from the University of Maine and an MFA in creative writing from VCU. Their work has been published in See the Elephant and Quaint magazines. What Big Teeth is their first novel.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.2 inches length x 5.7 inches width x 8.5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Virgin Islands, U.S., American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), United States Minor Outlying Islands

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the in-store purchase, ship date or online order pickup. See return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.