Loading, please wait...

When We Collided - by Emery Lord (Hardcover)

About this item

Specifications

Number of Pages: 352

Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Sub-Genre: Social Themes

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books

Age Range: Teen

Book theme: Mental Illness

Author: Emery Lord

Language: English

TCIN: 50771251
UPC: 9781619638457
Item Number (DPCI): 248-11-0085

Description

Nothing short of heartbreaking. These are definitely two teens worth rooting for in a tale that's several clicks above the usual frothy summer romance fare. - BCCB

Lord sucks readers into the fully realized world of two teenagers and their messy, honest families. As much about the fragility of the human experience as it is about mental illness, this offers a refreshing perspective on a spectrum of mental health disorders. This love story veers away from tragedy, instead firmly entrenching itself in hope and possibility. --Booklist

Filled with raw, descriptive truths . . . a powerful book for reader engagement . . . An absolute tearjerker romance with a powerful message about weightier topics of grief and mental illness. --starred review, School Library Journal

This is more than a love story. When We Collided carefully yet effortlessly puts mental illness in conversation with the beauty and struggle of adolescence. It is a book I wish could have written, but am so much better for having read. --Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of DUMPLIN' and SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY

Searingly honest, gut-wrenchingly authentic, and deeply romantic, When We Collided is a gift of a novel. It tackles tough topics with nuance, and will make readers both laugh and cry, sometimes within the span of a page. --Jasmine Warga, author of MY HEART AND OTHER BLACK HOLES

Vivi and Jonah's story will hit you deep in a book that shows what it means not only to be a person inflicted with mental illness, but to be the people that love them. In a word, fantastic! --Andi of Andi's ABCs

Fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell will fall in love with this poetic story of two damaged kids. --Daria Plumb, 2015 President of the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) and secondary English Language Arts teacher

There is an honest portrayal of how life can be jagged, with rough corners and uneven edges. But if you take a closer look, there's a beauty to these misshapen moments, outlined with hope. --Blogger Ginger Phillips at GReadsBooks!

I can't shake Vivi, her mistakes and her growth, the way she changes, the way she loves, and I don't want to. She's a YA heroine who will matter so much to teens. --Angie Manfredi, Los Alamos County Library

Emery weaves an emotional tale of two people who are essentially flawed, but so very human, navigating a relationship. She truly has a feel for the seventeen-year-old within all of us girls. --Cori Smith, Joseph-Beth Booksellers

It's romance and excitement and nervousness and heartbreak and sadness. . . . The teens at my library will eat this up! --Maggie Melson, Children's/Teen Librarian, St. Charles City-County Library District

What happens when an irrepressible spirit meets a burdened teen? Magic, that's what. Emery Lord knows how to craft a romance. --Michael Fleming, Librarian, Pacific Cascade Middle School

A fabulously entertaining story of friendship, healing, and love. Filled with laughter, heart, and a side of sass, this rock star debut will have you cheering for an encore! --Elizabeth Eulberg, author of BETTER OFF FRIENDS, on OPEN ROAD SUMMER

If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Recommended


From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

No reviews yet! Be the first to help other guests.

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.