Loading, please wait...

Where Dreams Descend - (Kingdom of Cards) by Janella Angeles

Where Dreams Descend - (Kingdom of Cards) by Janella Angeles - image 1 of 1
Where Dreams Descend - (Kingdom of Cards) by Janella Angeles - image 1 of 1
Format Hardcover

About this item

Specifications

Suggested Age: 14-18 Years

Number of Pages: 464

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Sub-Genre: Fantasy

Series Title: Kingdom of Cards

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Wednesday Books

Book theme: Epic

Author: Janella Angeles

Language: English

Street Date: August 25, 2020
TCIN: 79215502
UPC: 9781250204356
Item Number (DPCI): 247-17-0846
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description



About the Book



A star showgirl must win a magician's competition riddled with danger in order to secure her freedom, even as a handsome magician distracts her heart, in this lush, unforgettable debut fantasy



Book Synopsis



Vibrant imagery, jaw-dropping set pieces, sizzling romantic tension, and unstoppable heroine Kallia bring this ambitious debut novel to spectacular life. Fans of Caraval and The Night Circus will be delighted! - Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

In a city covered in ice and ruin, a group of magicians face off in a daring game of magical feats to find the next headliner of the Conquering Circus, only to find themselves under the threat of an unseen danger striking behind the scenes.

As each act becomes more and more risky and the number of missing magicians piles up, three are forced to reckon with their secrets before the darkness comes for them next.

The Star: Kallia, a powerful showgirl out to prove she's the best no matter the cost

The Master: Jack, the enigmatic keeper of the club, and more than one lie told

The Magician: Demarco, the brooding judge with a dark past he can no longer hide

Where Dreams Descend is the startling and romantic first book in Janella Angeles' debut Kingdom of Cards fantasy duology where magic is both celebrated and feared, and no heart is left unscathed.

[A] spellbinding melody of a book, and the true magic is how Angeles puts all the best parts of an enrapturing theatrical performance onto paper and ink. From the gripping twists in the first pages all the way to the final, heartbreaking crescendo, Where Dreams Descend will surge you to your feet in a standing ovation." - Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes trilogy



Review Quotes




BOOKISH, Ten 2020 Debut Novels You Won't Want to Put Down

BOOK RIOT,
8 of The Best Magical Cities in YA Books

BUSINESS INSIDER, The 33 best new books to read this spring - according to Goodreads

BUSTLE, 23 Debut Books That Are Too Good To Ignore

BUZZFEED
, 29 YA Fantasy Books We Can't Wait To Read In 2020

CULTURESS, 20 upcoming YA books we can't wait to read in 2020

EPIC READS, 26 YA Retellings That You Should Be Looking Forward to in 2020

GOODREADS, The 38 Most Anticipated YA Novels of 2020

KIRKUS, Best YA Fantasy and Science Fiction of 2020

THE NERD DAILY, The Most Anticipated 2020 Book Releases and 20 SFF YA Debuts To Watch Out For In 2020

POPSUGAR, 27 Exciting Debut Authors You Can Support During the Shutdowns

ASIAN JOURNAL, Anticipated 2020 book releases by Filipino & Fil-Am authors

SYFY.COM, Eight YA SFF Reads To Pick Up In August

THE YOUNG FOLKS, 10 Spring 2020 Reads That Prove Books and Music Go Hand-In-Hand

A lush, captivating blend of The Phantom of the Opera and fresh, new magic. ...As the romantic tension ratchets up, so deepen the mysteries. Readers will ache for the next installment. - KIRKUS (Starred Review)

Readers will find themselves quickly immersed in this quirky, well-paced tale of danger, adventure, and magic. The enigmatic ending reassures fans that the mysteries have answers that are yet to be discovered, and that there is more to come in the second part of this Kingdom of Cards duology. Give this to those who enjoyed Cole's Arcana Chronicles or Powell's Game of Triumphs twosome. - BOOKLIST

Formidable female characters and spectacular set pieces mark this ambitious series launch from debut author Angeles. - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Angeles's deep commitment to world-building means that this debut novel has atmosphere galore. It's lush and amazing at every turn, with fire, smoke, mirrors, costumes, and more. - SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL

Perfect for fans of Moulin Rouge and The Phantom of the Opera, Angeles' debut is spectacular, spectacular! - BUZZFEED

If you're looking for a spectacle of a read, look no further than Where Dreams Descend, which is so atmospheric you will feel like your world is sparkling. - BITCH MEDIA, 25 YA Novels Feminists Should Read in 2020

A lush tale of love, lies, and magic - and one of the most memorable YA fantasies you'll read this year. - CULTURESS

This is an intricate love song between the book and the reader, one expertly composed by a phenomenal author. Not only does Janella Angeles seamlessly weave together a fantasy where illusions seem to have more power than reality itself, but she executes each scene with the grace of a dancer gliding across the stage. - THE NERD DAILY

The perfect summer fantasy read. - POPSUGAR

An absolute success. ...It met every expectation and more. This story was unbelievable and so much fun to read. - YA BOOKS CENTRAL

A sweeping, atmospheric debut, Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles is perfect for fans of Caraval. - THE YOUNG FOLKS

Janella Angeles steals the 2020 show with her fiercely imagined debut starring larger than life characters, a dangerous world alive with magic, and a dizzying dose of grab-a-fainting-couch-and-swoon-away romance! - Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves

Where Dreams Descend is a glamorous dark gem of a tale, sparkling with romance, magic, and intrigue. Readers will be captivated by prima donna Kallia as the mystery is slowly unmasked. Bravissima! - Julie C. Dao, author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

Vibrant imagery, jaw-dropping set pieces, sizzling romantic tension, and unstoppable heroine Kallia bring this ambitious debut novel to spectacular life. Fans of Caraval and The Night Circus will be delighted! - Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

[A] spellbinding melody of a book, and the true magic is how Angeles puts all the best parts of an enrapturing theatrical performance onto paper and ink. From the gripping twists in the first pages all the way to the final, heartbreaking crescendo, Where Dreams Descend will surge you to your feet in a standing ovation." - Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes trilogy




About the Author



JANELLA ANGELES is a Filipino-American bestselling author who got her start in writing through consuming glorious amounts of fanfiction at a young age--which eventually led to penning a few of her own, and later on, creating original stories from her imagination. A lifelong lover of books, she's lucky enough to be working in the business of publishing them on top of writing them. She currently resides in Massachusetts, where she's most likely to be found listening to musicals on repeat and daydreaming too much for her own good. Where Dreams Descend is her first book.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.5 inches length x 6.2 inches width x 9.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.45 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. View return policy for details.
See the return policy for complete information.

From the manufacturer

No information loaded.

Guest Ratings & Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars with 3 reviews
100% would recommend
1 recommendations

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.