Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Wins and Losses : Stories (Hardcover) (Peter Makuck)

Wins and Losses : Stories (Hardcover) (Peter Makuck) - image 1 of 1

About this item

In Makuck’s fourth collection of short stories he once again explores the fertile territory of small, rural American towns. With tenderness and clarity, he excavates the mundane surface of everyday lives to reveal compassionate characters who are unexpectedly vulnerable. The stories in Wins and Losses are set in a car, a courtroom, a university English department, a sports bar, a jetliner, a laundromat. Characters struggle with regret, desire, expectations, and a need to win when loss is inevitable. A high school student whose father was killed in a car crash and who can speak openly only to his girlfriend delivers prescriptions for a pharmacy and learns much about people and values in the course of his deliveries. A lawyer recalls a dubious family friend, an undercover cop, who pressured him as a young boy toward guns and football. A recent widow finds a cardboard box on her front porch only to discover it contains the body of her dog. A young woman takes her mother to a cardiologist and, while in the waiting room, gets into an argument with a wealthy political conservative at great cost to both of them. In the tradition of Cheever and Updike, Makuck's stories give us characters struggling with questions of what really matters.
Number of Pages: 211
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Syracuse Univ Pr
Author: Peter Makuck
Language: English
Street Date: September 2, 2016
TCIN: 51733058
UPC: 9780815634942
Item Number (DPCI): 248-30-3012
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$44.95
MSRPReg: $49.95 Save $5.00 (10% off)
Shipping
not available
Not in stores

Ratings & reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.