JanSport Big Student 17.5" Backpack - image 1 of 4JanSport Big Student 17.5" Backpack - image 2 of 4JanSport Big Student 17.5" Backpack - image 3 of 4JanSport Big Student 17.5" Backpack - image 4 of 4
JanSport Big Student 17.5" Backpack - image 1 of 4
$47.99When purchased online

About this item

At a glance

Water-Resistant
Water-Resistant
Laptop Pocket
Laptop Pocket

Fit & style

  • Capacity: 2100 cu in / 34L
  • Weight: 1.b 5 oz / .6 kg
  • Dimensions: 17.5" x 13" x 7.5" / 43 x 33 x 19 cm
  • Laptop Dimensions: 16" x 12" / 41.5 x 30.5 cm
  • Fabric: Recycled 600 Denier Polyester

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 17.5 Inches (H) x 13 Inches (W) x 7.5 Inches (D)

Suggested Age: All Ages

Shell Material: Polyester

Bag Structure: Softside

Interior Features: Slit Pocket, Laptop Pocket, Multiple Compartments, Organizer Pocket

Exterior Features: 1-Bottle Holder

Main Compartment Closure: Zip Closure

Capacity (Volume): 34 Liter

Protective Qualities: Water-Resistant

Used For: School

Fits Laptop: Up to 15 Inches

Battery: No Battery Used

Care & Cleaning: Wash With Soap and Water

Warranty: Lifetime Limited Warranty. To obtain a copy of the manufacturer's or supplier's warranty for this item prior to purchasing the item, please call Target Guest Services at 1-800-591-3869

TCIN: 81919645
UPC: 194902194728
Item Number (DPCI): 069-10-0746
Origin: Imported

Description

The big news with Big Student is that it now features a dedicated 15in padded laptop compartment. You still get two large main compartments, front utility pocket with organizer, pleated front stash pocket, side water bottle pocket, ergonomic S-curve shoulder straps, fully padded back panel, and zippered front stash pocket keeps all your gear organized. Go Big or go home.
Water-Resistant
Fabric resists water for comfort and long-lasting use
Laptop Pocket
Designated laptop compartment
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.46 inches length x 15.79 inches width x 21.05 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 2.48 pounds

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. If purchased online with SNAP EBT, this item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup. This 90-day return window is required by SNAP.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: How many pockets are there? Including the ones in the front. I want to know how many bigger pockets their are.

submitted by Alura Clestine - 2 months ago
  • A: There are 6 pockets included. This bag is very spacious and sturdy for school. There are 3 large pockets and 3 small ones. It has adjustable bands. I do recommend this bag, it has great quality

    submitted byKari - 2 months ago
  • A: There are 2 main compartments and a separate lap top compartment in the Big Student. There are 6 total zipper compartments. Thanks for contacting JanSport

    submitted byJanSport Product Expert - 2 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: In middle school you have a lot of homework, is it big enough for a bunch of books?

submitted by abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy - 1 month ago
  • A: The Big Student is one of the largest volume backpacks you can buy with over 2000 cubit inches of capacity to hold all you need for school The Big Student has multiple pocket to help you organize your day and keep your stuff where you want it. Thanks for reaching out to JanSport.

    submitted byJanSport Product Expert - 1 month ago
    Brand expert

Q: what is the inside color of the black jansoprt?

submitted by faith - 1 month ago
  • A: I think it is black inside

    submitted byabcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxy - 1 month ago

Q: is there a laptop compartment?

submitted by Vivienne - 1 month ago
  • A: The Big Student has a zippered laptop compartment on the back of the pack. Thanks for contacting JanSport.

    submitted byJanSport Product Expert - 1 month ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does the outside get dirty?

submitted by Sumaira - 2 months ago
  • A: The outside of any backpack will get dirty over time as you use the pack. How dirty your pack gets, when the pack gets dirty, or why it happen varies widely based on use and the environment the pack is exposed to day after day. Please go to JanSport.com to learn more about how to clean your pack if it does get dirty. Thanks for contacting JanSport.

    submitted byJanSport Product Expert - 2 months ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this backpack have good back support?

submitted by G - 1 year ago
  • A: Thanks for reaching out to JanSport. In answer to your question yes the JanSport packs at Target have padded back panels and padded shoulder straps making them comfortable to carry. The beat way to make a pack more comfortable is to pack the heaviest items or weight closest to the back. This will help prevent you from feeling off balance and will help center the load over your legs.

    submitted byJanSport Product Expert - 1 year ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is JanSport backpack safe to the Seattle rain? Is waterproof or al least water resist?

submitted by Yesse - 1 year ago
  • A: Thanks for contacting JanSport. All JanSport backpacks have a coating on the inside of the pack that makes them water resistant. Thanks.

    submitted byJanSport Product Expert - 1 year ago
    Brand expert
4.3 out of 5 stars with 88 reviews
85% would recommend
80 recommendations
value: 4.35 out of 5
quality: 4.61 out of 5

Awesome backpack

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Mom of 3 - 5 days ago, Verified purchaser
I love the color and going strong 2 years. My teen trows this backpack on concrete everywhere and not rips or anything.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Poor quality

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Bmom22 - 7 days ago, Verified purchaser
SUPER cute design, a lot of pockets and space but the straps broke with 2 weeks of light use and broke in a way that isn't fixable so the whole bag needed to be replaced even though it's still in brand new condition.
Did you find this review helpful?

Poor quality

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
P - 10 days ago
Cheap quality..the stitching at the top of the strap unraveled just after 25 days of use. Also the bottom of the bag got a puncture hole in it. Recycled materials that make these bags...not made for life anymore. I returned the bag and will now search for one not made with recycled items.
Did you find this review helpful?

White lining?

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Disapointed - 12 days ago, Verified purchaser
They never showed the interior which is a dirt collecting white color. For the money it doesn’t seem durable. I’m returning this item.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Great!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Kelcia - 22 days ago, Verified purchaser
I bought this backpack for my son and he loves it! It's perfect for middle schoolers.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great backpack

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Erivershill - 26 days ago, Verified purchaser
I bought this backpack for my nine year old. It is pretty spacious, but will definitely have room for winter gear that he’ll need to bring to school. Tie dye print is super colorful and fun. I hope it holds up well. His last jansport backpack lasted about 4 years before the zipper got wonky.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great size for teens and adults!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
guest DJ - 27 days ago, Verified purchaser
I bought this for my high school student and it accommodates the school-issued laptop, binders, and school supplies. The straps are well padded and there are enough zippered compartments for personal items.
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Very cute!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Pink backpack - 30 days ago, Verified purchaser
My daughter loved this backpack. It has many pockets for plenty of storage (even for their water bottle). The pink color is super girly girl. Very cute backpack, perfect for middle and high school students.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Don't waste your money

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Db313 - 1 month ago
Strap snapped on the first day of school. What kind of quality is this? Will be returning.
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Strap snapped

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
allyson - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Strap snapped the 2nd day of school.. she’s a 5th grader so it’s not like it was full of heavy books when it happened!
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
9 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Love it!!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
hyeager23 - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
This backpack is so cute!! The color is bright and cheery, and the cherries add the right touch of cuteness. There are plenty of pockets to organize all your supplies!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Big

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
forreal - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Alot of room..good for carryon
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great backpack

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Starfly - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
my daughter (12 yo) love this. lots of pockets and room to carry entire locker
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Great for organization.

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Jazzyluv - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
My daughter loves the many pockets.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Perfect backpack for my kids

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Cbadfamof6 - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Love this style of backpack for my elementary aged kids. It fits their chrome book, lunch box and anything else great! Zippers are always dependable and has great compartment options. Very durable too.
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Strap ripping after 2 weeks

2 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Momof4 - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Terrible quality. My 7th grader has only used this backpack for 2 weeks and the shoulder strap is already ripping big time at the seem. Not the quality I expected from JanSport
quality: 2 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
10 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

its cute

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Anisa - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
it’s soooo cute! i got the dusty pink and it’s the perfect shade of pink imo. it’s has so many pockets and a back pocket for safety storing ur laptop. and water bottle holder. 10/10 it’s kinda expensive thooo (ignore the crying baby)
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
9 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Perfect

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Shan - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Alll my daughter wanted, finally came in stock, everything we imagined!! Can’t wait to use it!
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Huge, but adorable

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
allial0805 - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
It’s a HUGE backpack. I got this for my 3rd grader, though it’s adorable, I would have preferred this be a little smaller!! It’s my fault for not reading, but over all, it’s great! I think we counted 6 different zipper areas! If you’re looking for a gigantic and cute backpack, this is it!
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Backpack for school

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Smiley - 1 month ago, Verified purchaser
Really like the material and is big enough for school materials.
3 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads