Serving Size: 35 g
Serving Per Container: 6
A: Yeah, the way they put it can be a little confusing. Its just the way the manufacturer lets us know specifically what's in there. So, they begin with the "generic term": "milk"; then they state the specific "form": coconut. Other terms for other products could potentially read: "milk, almond", or "milk, cashew", etc., so that people can better discern if there are any allergens in there and, if so, which kind. There is no dairy milk in this product.
A: You're right that the product specifications on the Target site state "contains: milk, coconut" but the actual product ingredients list tree nut( coconut) as the only top 8 allergen present. You can check the company website for the smart label. It again only lists the coconut as a top 8 allergen present. However I did not see any details on possible cross contamination, considering most of the other swiss miss products have milk. So if you are really interested or depending on your allergy, you could always email the company to know for sure on cross contamination in manufacturing. Fellow food allergy mama here :).
A: Coconut milk is not dairy.
A: That is an excellent question. Due to a certain type of sugar, some are animal byproduct - but at least non-dairy. The first ingredient sugar...wow! Imagine that. I would definitely recommend you send an email to Swiss Miss and give them the product name and they would give you the correct information regarding whether it's vegan. The only sweetener I know of in this - maltodextrine - which is also an additive that comes from plants. After you get an answer, please reply on this. I am sure there are many with enquiring minds that would love to know. Thanks!