Loading, please wait...
:

product description page

Upside of Irrationality : The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic (Reprint) (Paperback) (Dan Ariely)

Upside of Irrationality : The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic (Reprint) (Paperback) (Dan Ariely) - image 1 of 1

About this item

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author ofThe Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell’sBlink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights inThe Upside of Irrationality.

The provocative follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Predictably Irrational

  • Why can large bonuses make CEOs less productive?
  • How can confusing directions actually help us?
  • Why is revenge so important to us?
  • Why is there such a big difference between what we think will make us happy and what really makes us happy?

In his groundbreaking book Predictably Irrational, social scientist Dan Ariely revealed the multiple biases that lead us into making unwise decisions. Now, in The Upside of Irrationality, he exposes the surprising negative and positive effects irrationality can have on our lives. Focusing on our behaviors at work and in relationships, he offers new insights and eye-opening truths about what really motivates us on the job, how one unwise action can become a long-term habit, how we learn to love the ones we're with, and more.

Drawing on the same experimental methods that made Predictably Irrational one of the most talked-about bestsellers of the past few years, Ariely uses data from his own original and entertaining experiments to draw arresting conclusions about how—and why—we behave the way we do. From our office attitudes, to our romantic relationships, to our search for purpose in life, Ariely explains how to break through our negative patterns of thought and behavior to make better decisions. The Upside of Irrationality will change the way we see ourselves at work and at home—and cast our irrational behaviors in a more nuanced light.

Edition: Reprint
Number of Pages: 334
Genre: Business + Money Management, Psychology, Mathematics
Sub-Genre: Economics / General, Movements / Rationalism, Applied Psychology, Logic, Probability + Statistics / General
Series Title: P.s.
Format: Paperback
Publisher: HarperCollins
Author: Dan Ariely
Language: English
Street Date: May 17, 2011
TCIN: 13366334
UPC: 9780061995040
Item Number (DPCI): 248-63-6481
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it. Report incorrect product info.
$13.59
MSRPReg: $15.99 Save $2.40 (15% off)
Shipping
In stock - free standard shipping with REDcard
Not in stores
Loading, please wait...

Guest reviews

Prices, promotions, styles and availability may vary by store & online. See our price match guarantee. See how a store is chosen for you.


*See offer details. Restrictions apply. Pricing, promotions and availability may vary by location and at Target.com.