Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target LGBTQIA+ ShopTop DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

A Little Like Waking - by Adam Rex

A Little Like Waking - by Adam Rex - image 1 of 1
A Little Like Waking - by Adam Rex - image 1 of 1
$12.49 sale price when purchased online
$20.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • You've Reached Sam meets The Good Place in this deeply-felt, surreal and fully illustrated love story about a girl, a boy, a dreamer, and a dream from best-selling and award-winning author Adam Rex.
  • 400 Pages
  • Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy

Description



About the Book



While stuck in a dream, eighteen-year-old Zelda explores the far reaches of the dreamscape with a timid boy named Langston, but as they grow closer and closer, they discover truths neither of them wants to face.



Book Synopsis



You've Reached Sam meets The Good Place in this deeply-felt, surreal and fully illustrated love story about a girl, a boy, a dreamer, and a dream from best-selling and award-winning author Adam Rex.

Zelda is stuck in a dream. A very strange dream, where people can fly, bears sneeze money, and her childhood cat, Patches, is somehow alive - despite being run over years ago. Things only get stranger when Zelda meets Langston, a sweet if overly timid guy who feels more real to her than anyone she's ever met.

As Zelda and Langston explore the far reaches of the dreamscape together, they find themselves growing closer and closer. But what they uncover along the way pushes them towards a truth neither of them wants to face. Will it turn out that he's the guy of her dreams, or is she the girl of his?

Full of mind-bending artwork, Adam Rex's A Little Like Waking is a tender, insightful read that defies time, space, and expectation that's perfect for fans of Every Day and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.



Review Quotes




A Bank Street Best Book of the Year
A Finalist for the Ohioana Book Award

"Wildly inventive and achingly touching, this is an exquisite book about longing, love, and grief that mesmerizes on every page. This book is a dreamy, fantastic treasure." -- Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces and You'd Be Home Now

"A Little Like Waking is an adventure of a love story that brings the dream world to life with immersive clarity. Whimsical, beautiful, and one of a kind." -- Rachael Lippincott, New York Times bestselling coauthor of She Gets the Girl

"Romantic and constantly surprising, mixing small-town charm with surreal fantasy, A Little Like Waking is a brilliant love letter to the magic of the human mind." -- E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars

"A charming, funny, highly imaginative story that invites long thoughts about the nature of reality and the enduring importance of romance." -- Booklist, starred review

"
A wonderfully inventive story bursting with humor and heart." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Rex's quest narrative is like none other, sure to leave readers marveling at the wonder of dreams and the power of imagination." -- BookPage

"By turns existential and goofy, this campy, off-the-beaten-path story, propelled via an immediate, stream-of-conscious voice and sprinkled with beguiling artwork, ruminates on themes of loss and love." -- Publishers Weekly

"Surreal...Revelations toward the end, with some twists and turns, provide a payoff that invites re-readings." -- Horn Book Magazine




About the Author



Adam Rex is the award-winning author and illustrator of more than forty books including the New York Times bestsellers Frankenstein Makes a Sandwich, School's First Day of School, and Chu's Day, as well as The True Meaning of Smekday, which was adapted for film by DreamWorks. He lives in Tucson, Arizona, with his dog, son, and wife.
Dimensions (Overall): 9.1 Inches (H) x 6.2 Inches (W) x 1.3 Inches (D)
Weight: 1.4 Pounds
Suggested Age: 13-17 Years
Number of Pages: 400
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Theme: Romance
Format: Hardcover
Author: Adam Rex
Language: English
Street Date: August 1, 2023
TCIN: 87339570
UPC: 9781250621917
Item Number (DPCI): 247-09-4858
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.3 inches length x 6.2 inches width x 9.1 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1.4 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy