EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Ex (Reprint) (Paperback) (Alafair Burke) - image 1 of 1
Ex (Reprint) (Paperback) (Alafair Burke) - image 1 of 1
$10.85 when purchased online

About this item

Description



About the Book



After agreeing to defend her ex-fiancâe when he is arrested for a triple homicide, top criminal lawyer, Olivia Randall begins to have doubts as the evidence mounts against him.--Adapted from page 4 of cover.



Book Synopsis



In this breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder--but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

And look for Alafair Burke's latest heart-racing novel of psychological suspense, The Wife, coming in January 2018.

Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it.

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife Molly by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart.

Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide--and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder--there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him--and why?

For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?



From the Back Cover



Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide--and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder--there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him--and why?

For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, to absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?



Review Quotes



"Burke tells a compelling legal thriller that will have readers baffled until the final reveal.... Burke knows how to write, and Olivia Randall is one of her most authentic characters. No one would object if this is the start of a new series."--Lisa Ko, author of The Leavers

"A deeply wrought, emotional story that transcends the crime at its core. This is perhaps her best work to date."--Strand

"A major talent."--Harlan Coben

"Briskly told and packed with plot, The Ex rocks. . . . A nifty bit of fine suspense."--New York Journal of Books

"Burke's female characters are always very involving, with big, strong voices."--Gillian Flynn

"Burke's novels always deliver and constantly surprise. They're both addictive and utterly rewarding."--Megan Abbott

"Enjoyable.... There's a great and satisfying surprise.... Worth the time."--USA Today, three stars

"Features smooth, engaging writing; a sharp, funny edge; and characters worth investing in. Burke has created some memorable female protagonists over the years, but Olivia might be the cream of the crop."--Kirkus

"Gripping.... Olivia makes an appealingly bold protagonist.... Burke keeps the suspense high throughout, prying open mysteries of relationships and perception."--Publishers Weekly

"Intriguing, suspenseful, compelling, insightful, surprising, and thoroughly satisfying -- The Ex is a great read."--Chris Pavone, The Accident and The Expats

"Riveting.... Burke's protagonist, Olivia Randall, is a complicated woman with legal skills to match the Lincoln Lawyer.... Olivia proves she's at the top of her game as a criminal defense attorney. And with her pacey plot and fascinating characters, Burke proves she's at the top of hers."--Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

"Riveting."--Entertainment Weekly

"Strong characters and a plot that's handled deftly, despite its complexities, show Burke at the top of her game here. This is a compelling legal thriller with a strong emotional component grounded in a solid rational base, with a final twist to boot."--Library Journal, starred review

"Superb.... Burke delivers a multi-layered plot that explores relationships and manipulation in a rich character study.... Anyone who has a former boyfriend--or girlfriend--will be able to relate to Olivia's situation.... "The Ex" doesn't let up until the final, believable twist."--Florida Sun-Sentinel

"Superb.... Equal measures superlative mystery and crack courtroom thriller reminiscent of the great John Lescroart or the William Diehl classic "Primal Fear." We literally never know what's coming next, putty in Burke's devilishly adept hands as she shapes a wholly satisfying and brilliantly constructed whiz bang of a tale."--Providence Journal

"This thought-provoking novel is brilliantly crafted, with a compelling and complex plot."--Bookreporter.com

"With an all-too-real mass shooting in a richly-observed Manhattan as its springboard, The Ex is an expertly crafted, intricately woven novel that is as emotionally complex as it is riveting."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia and Where They Found Her
Dimensions (Overall): 7.8 Inches (H) x 5.2 Inches (W) x 1 Inches (D)
Weight: .48 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 288
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Thrillers
Publisher: HarperCollins
Format: Paperback
Author: Alafair Burke
Language: English
Street Date: January 31, 2017
TCIN: 51543415
UPC: 9780062390493
Item Number (DPCI): 059-04-6155
Origin: Made in the USA
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 5.3 inches length x 1 inches width x 8 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 1 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 30 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads