Father's Day GiftsGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesCollegeArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget OpticalClearanceTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

Flygirl - by Sherri L Smith (Paperback)

Flygirl - by  Sherri L Smith (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
Flygirl - by  Sherri L Smith (Paperback) - image 1 of 1
$8.69 sale price when purchased online
$11.99 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • For fans of Unbroken and Ruta Sepetys.
  • 12 Years
  • 8.2" x 5.4" Paperback
  • 304 Pages
  • Young Adult Fiction, Historical

Description



About the Book



When America enters World War II, the Army creates the Women's Air Force Service Pilots. Ida Mae Jones, a young African-American woman, suddenly sees a way to fly as well as do something to help her brother stationed in the Pacific.



Book Synopsis



For fans of Unbroken and Ruta Sepetys.

All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly. Her daddy was a pilot, and years after his death she feels closest to him when she's in the air. But as a young black woman in 1940s Louisiana, she knows the sky is off limits to her, until America enters World War II, and the Army forms the WASP-Women Airforce Service Pilots. Ida has a chance to fulfill her dream if she's willing to use her light skin to pass as a white girl. She wants to fly more than anything, but Ida soon learns that denying one's self and family is a heavy burden, and ultimately it's not what you do but who you are that's most important.

Read Sherri L. Smith's posts on the Penguin Blog



Review Quotes




The Washington Post Best Kids' Books of the Year
ALA Best Books for Young Adults
California Book Awards Young Adult Gold Medal Winner
Texas Tayshas High School Reading List
Children's Indie Next List
Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books
Capital Choices Noteworthy Books for Children
Cooperative Children's Book Center Choices

"This breakthrough title adds a new story to the shelves of World War II books." --Booklist, starred review

-A dynamic, heartfelt novel. --The Washington Post

-A thrilling, but little-known story that begs to be told. The book is at once informative and entertaining. --School Library Journal

"This well-told, interesting story moves along at a good clip . . . A vibrant picture of WWII women and of Jim Crow as it was then." --Kirkus Reviews

"It was hard not to find myself cheering Ida Mae on. Hard not to get an itch to fly after reading this. Sherri Smith is a truly talented writer and Flygirl is a wonderful story." --Jacqueline Woodson, National Book Award-winning author



About the Author



Sherri L. Smith was born in Chicago, Illinois and spent most of her childhood reading books. She currently lives in Los Angeles, where she has worked in movies, animation, comic books and construction. Sherri's first book, Lucy the Giant, was an American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults in 2003. The Dutch translation, Lucy XXL (Gottmer, 2005), was awarded an Honorable Mention at the 2005 De Gouden Zoen, or Golden Kiss, Awards for Children's Literature in the Netherlands. Sherri's novel, Sparrow, was chosen as a National Council for the Social Studies/Children's Book Council Notable Social Studies Trade Book for Young People and is also a 2009 Louisiana Young Readers Choice Award Nominee. Upon the release of Hot, Sour, Salty, Sweet in February 2008, Sherri was featured as a spotlight author for The Brown Bookshelf's Black History Month celebration, 28 Days Later. Flygirl, an historical YA novel set during World War II, is her fourth novel.

"Cloudberries," Ladybug Magazine (2001)

Lucy the Giant (2002)

Various stories, Bart Simpson Comics (2002)

Sparrow (2006)

Hot Sour, Salty, Sweet (2008)

Flygirl (January 2009)

Dimensions (Overall): 8.2 Inches (H) x 5.4 Inches (W) x 1.0 Inches (D)
Weight: .62 Pounds
Suggested Age: 12 Years
Number of Pages: 304
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Sub-Genre: Historical
Publisher: Penguin Books
Theme: United States, 20th Century
Format: Paperback
Author: Sherri L Smith
Language: English
Street Date: September 16, 2010
TCIN: 12765168
UPC: 9780142417256
Item Number (DPCI): 248-50-4029
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1 inches length x 5.4 inches width x 8.2 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.62 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy