LEGO BOOST Creative Toolbox 17101 - image 1 of 4LEGO BOOST Creative Toolbox 17101 - image 2 of 4LEGO BOOST Creative Toolbox 17101 - image 3 of 4LEGO BOOST Creative Toolbox 17101 - image 4 of 4
LEGO BOOST Creative Toolbox 17101 - image 1 of 4
$159.99When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Build one of five multi-functional robots and control them with our easy-to-use coding blocks on your tablet!
  • Includes a LEGO Move Hub with Bluetooth connectivity, interactive motor and Color & Distance Sensor
  • LEGO BOOST building toys are compatible with all LEGO construction sets for creative building
  • Vernie the robot is over 10” high. Frankie the cat is over 6” tall. M.T.R.4 is over 4” high, 9” long and 5” wide. Guitar4000 is over 1” high, 16” long and 5” wide. The Autobuilder is 10” high, 7” long and 6” wide
  • 847 pieces – For boys and girls between the ages of 7 and 12 years old
  • The LEGO BOOST app is available for selected iOS, Android and Kindle smart devices. Visit LEGO.com/devicecheck for a list of compatible devices. The app offers regular updates with new challenges and coding options designed to encourage social play.

Specifications

Number of Pieces: 847

Suggested Age: 7-12 Years

Assembled Dimensions: 10.63 Inches (H) x 6 Inches (W) x 4.5 Inches (D)

CPSC Choking Hazard Warnings: Choking_hazard_contains_small_ball, choking_hazard_small_parts

Educational Focus: Creative Thinking

Includes: Toy Building Components

Material: Plastic

Battery: 6 AAA Alkaline, Required, Not Included

Street Date: August 1, 2017
TCIN: 52105144
UPC: 673419272292
Item Number (DPCI): 204-00-0393
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported

Description

Bring your LEGO creations to life with the new LEGO BOOST Creative Toolbox—a fun and easy way for your 7+ builder to learn the basics of coding, engineering and robotics. Simply choose one of the 5 models available with the BOOST set, download the free, easy-to-use app and you’re ready to go! Choose between Vernie the Robot—a moving, talking robot; the M.T.R.4 (Multi-Tooled Rover 4)—a robust, versatile rover with 4 different tool attachments including a spring-loaded shooter; the Guitar4000—a musical instrument with pitch bend and sound effects; Frankie the Cat—an interactive robot pet that plays, purrs and expresses its mood; or the AutoBuilder—an automated production line that really builds miniature LEGO models! Then bring your creation to life with the app’s intuitive, icon-based coding interface and complete an array of exciting activities designed for each model. With LEGO BOOST, children learn about loops and variables, improve STEM and creative-problem solving skills and develop their imagination as they toggle between guided and open-ended play.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 21.03 inches length x 10.9 inches width x 3.78 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 4.01 pounds
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Virgin Islands, U.S., Northern Mariana Islands, APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Does this work well with the 8th generation (2020) iPad? Thanks!

submitted by AustinMom - 2 years ago
  • A: You can check our list of internally tested devices to see if yours is compatible over at LEGO.build/DeviceCheck-BV. - Jayare, LEGO® Customer Service

    submitted byLEGO Customer Service - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can a Chrome book be used for this? Thanks

submitted by Amy B - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi there! Unfortunately, a Chrome Book is not compatible with the app. To find out more, visit LEGO.build/DeviceCheck-BV. - Manouk, LEGO® Customer Service.

    submitted byLEGO Customer Service - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Do you have to break the set apart to change models?

submitted by Ninja - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi there! Yes, that's correct! This creative set enables you to create 1 of 5 multifunctional models at a time. - Jon, LEGO® Customer Service

    submitted byLEGO Customer Service - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Does this work with a tablet?

submitted by cpestieau - 2 years ago
  • A: It does! We have a wide list of compatible devices (on Android, Apple, and Kindle), and we're always working to test new ones. Check to see if your device is compatible by visiting LEGO.build/DeviceCheck-BV. - Sarah, LEGO® Customer Service

    submitted byLEGO Customer Service - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is this set compatable with lego ninjaco 70652 stormbringer?

submitted by mary - 4 years ago
  • A: Hi Mary! If you have both 17101 BOOST Creative Toolbox and 70652 Stormbringer, you can combine them to bring a dragon roaring to life. Kind regards, Emily LEGO® Customer Service

    submitted byLEGO Customer Service - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is the mobile app compatible with an apple iPod?

submitted by Gramma - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello Gramma, thanks for your query. We provided an overview of tested and compatible devices for LEGO® BOOST that you can look up on this website: https://www.lego.com/en-us/service/device-guide/boost

    submitted byLEGO Customer Service - 5 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can you have two items built at the same time?

submitted by apeh2000 - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello apeh2000, thanks for your query. The LEGO® elements included will allow you to build one model at a time.

    submitted byLEGO Customer Service - 5 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Is the app available on a kindle fire for kids?

submitted by Moose - 5 years ago
  • A: Hello! The LEGO® Boost app is not available for the kids editions of the Kindle Fire tablets. It is available for other versions of Kindle Fire devices though! These include: Fire 7 (2017) Fire HD 8 (2015) Fire HD 8 (2016) Fire HD 8 (2017) Fire HD 10 (2015) Fire HD 10 (2017) We also have mobile device compatibility in the works! You can see the updated list of compatible devices on our Device Guide page here: https://www.lego.com/en-us/service/device-guide/boost. Please reach out to our customer service teams via call, chat or email if you have any other questions about the LEGO Boost set! LEGO.com/Service

    submitted byLEGO Customer Service - 5 years ago
    Brand expert
4.2 out of 5 stars with 146 reviews
88% would recommend
18 recommendations
broad age appeal: 4.24 out of 5
quality: 4.44 out of 5
length of play: 4.31 out of 5
value: 4.25 out of 5
ease of use: 4.31 out of 5

Doesn't work

1 out of 5 stars
SuperchargedYam080 - 17 days ago
originally posted on LEGO
Followed instructions to make the cat, broke it down again to test for problems and it still didn't work, Bluetooth failure. My sons birthday ruined
1 reply from LEGO® Customer Service team - 16 days ago
Oh no! Please give us a call or chat at LEGO.build/Service-BV so we can help troubleshoot with you. We'll do all we can to get your son's birthday gift back on track!
Did you find this review helpful?

Best Christmas present for my science minded kid

5 out of 5 stars
TwinklingSlippers077 - 21 days ago
originally posted on LEGO
This is the best Christmas present ever for my science minded 7 year old kid. I had to help trouble shoot initially when I downloaded the app on my iPad, but other than that, he completely independently puts it together, programs it, and spends HOURS of time playing with it. It’s his favorite toy and was totally worth the money. And I can feel good about it because he learns so much while doing it.
1 reply from LEGO® Customer Service team - 20 days ago
Playing and having fun while learning really do go hand in hand!
Did you find this review helpful?

brilliant gift for a 9yr old girl

4 out of 5 stars
MercifulSleven073 - 3 months ago
originally posted on LEGO
brought this as birthday gift for my 9yr old daughter. she has much fun and loves it.
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Great value

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
TargetMom - 4 months ago
Great value. I love that this could be built and rebuilt. Most sets that are this price are bigger sets that are built once and done. I think we got much more for our money.
ease of use: 5 out of 5
broad age appeal: 4 out of 5
length of play: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
Did you find this review helpful?

Complete failure of a product

1 out of 5 stars
LeastFumblingWyplash - 6 months ago
originally posted on LEGO
Sadly this product depends upon the usability of the app, which is non-existent. Failures of the app from 2021 to work on multiple android devices, and the updated version in 2022 now at least connects on the range of devices being tried out, but nothing but then everything falls out of sync when it insists on updating the firmware. No windows app to try out. A completely unusable waste of money.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Building robots

5 out of 5 stars
FarmerFranticCoat - 6 months ago
originally posted on LEGO
A great product for someone who likes variety, building robots and programming
Did you find this review helpful?

Great Learning Toy

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Mom - 9 months ago, Verified purchaser
My 10 year old has had a lot of fun building and coding with this Lego set!
value: 4 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
length of play: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

"it's my favorite Lego toy" (7yo son)

5 out of 5 stars
Gunnar - 9 months ago
originally posted on LEGO
We probably own >50 Lego sets, but my 7yo just declared this was his favorite set bc he can be creative and build and rebuild different things with it. As a parent (and academic), it's really an amazing toy to start learning robotics and programming. Don't get get hung up on the initial issue requiring the brick firmware to be updated (and it's not easy to find how to do it...). But there is a good Reddit thread on it. Also Lego customer service sent me detailed instructions. After that, it was pure fun and bliss, just as you'd expect from Lego.
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Wouldn't Connect

1 out of 5 stars
AJ - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
We returned this item after trying to connect it using 2 different devices and every troubleshooting idea we found online. It was a great idea, but just didn't work.
Did you find this review helpful?

Legos for lufe

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
MrsWorkingHomemake - 11 months ago, Verified purchaser
My 9yo played with this for 4 hours (building and coding).
value: 5 out of 5
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
length of play: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

GO BOOST!

5 out of 5 stars
Mav1 - 1 year ago
originally posted on LEGO
I think boost is AWESOME and the best LEGO set I'v ever had!
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

So Fun For Early Coding and Problem solving

5 out of 5 stars
Huskergal - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
*Be aware that you may need to call in for the bluetooth connectivity work around. If that was not resolved this is worth nothing. That said, it works and it has been a lot of fun to build and rebuild and follow the building process.
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 4 out of 5
length of play: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Great gift for a STEM lover!

5 out of 5 stars
Happy momma - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
Bought this for our 10 year-old daughter’s birthday. This toy has several things you can choose to build and she loved picking the robot cat! Takes some time to put together, but the journey is the best part. :D
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
ease of use: 5 out of 5
length of play: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
value: 4 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

BEST TOY EVER

5 out of 5 stars
aGoodKid123 - 1 year ago
originally posted on LEGO
THIS IS A REALLY GOOD SET AND IVE BUILT THREE RIGHT NOW (ROBOTS OF THE SET)
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Piece of junk

1 out of 5 stars
Kkan - 1 year ago
originally posted on LEGO
I bought this as a gift for my friend’s 9yo daughter. She was so excited to start building it. But she was so DISAPPOINTED when she couldn’t get the app to work & pair with the robot! So this is actually an expensive piece of junk not a robot! Very disappointed in LEGO! And before you blame the devices they used to connect, both iPad & iPhone were used.
1 reply from LEGO® Customer Service team - 1 year ago
We're sorry for the disappointment and want to help. If you've checked that your devices are compatible with the app at LEGO.build/DeviceCheck-BV, then please give us a call so we can troubleshoot the connection issue with you!
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Ashamed

1 out of 5 stars
RoughestFerociousWakz - 1 year ago
originally posted on LEGO
This is a not so good set the app is terrible we tried to uninstall and reinstall the app but it didn't I hope Lego doesn't make this mistake again.
1 reply from LEGO® Customer Service team - 1 year ago
We’re sorry you’re having trouble with your LEGO® BOOST app, but we’re here to help! Just get in touch at LEGO.build/Service-BV and we'd be happy to troubleshoot the problem with you!
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Did not work

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Mamama - 1 year ago
Great concept, terrible execution. Did not work. Could not get the ap to work no matter how we tried. We had to return it and had a very disappointed child.
ease of use: 2 out of 5
broad age appeal: 3 out of 5
length of play: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
2 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Awesome!

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
AshleyA - 1 year ago, Verified purchaser
This toy is SO COOL! My husband and kids love it ! And it tells jokes :-)
ease of use: 5 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
broad age appeal: 5 out of 5
length of play: 5 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Boost line awesome....

5 out of 5 stars
JollyLudwig08 - 2 years ago
originally posted on LEGO
This Boost Tool Box set is LEGO AWESOME in many ways, as your imagination and application of Boost Tool Box can be utilized for many LEGO builds only limited to your own imagination! Very expansive if applied so... kudos LEGO MINDSTORMS is highly recommended as a bridge of development Boost Tool Box
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

The Hub is not rechargeable

4 out of 5 stars
ChrisMamaBear - 2 years ago
originally posted on LEGO
This is a great toy for kids who love robots and want to learn to build and code. I do have a comment about the hub. It has batteries and isn't rechargeable. So, if your child builds their own robot, they will have to take into consideration access to the batteries. My child was so excited to have built his own creation that he could manipulate via coding and remote control. Then when the batteries died ... he needed to take the whole thing apart to replace the batteries. So, learning curve... but still, a rechargeable hub would have been so much nicer.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads