Back to SchoolCollegeGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeOutdoor Living & GardenFurnitureKitchen & DiningElectronicsVideo GamesToysSports & OutdoorsMovies, Music & BooksBabyHousehold EssentialsBeautyUlta Beauty at TargetPersonal CareHealthPetsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageGift IdeasGift CardsCharacter ShopBullseye’s PlaygroundTarget OpticalClearanceTarget New Arrivals Target Finds #TargetStylePrideLGBTQIA+ ShopBlack Beyond MeasureMás QueWomen-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at Target Top DealsTarget Circle DealsWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

On the Line - by Fern Michaels

On the Line - by Fern Michaels - image 1 of 1
On the Line - by Fern Michaels - image 1 of 1
$14.99 sale price when purchased online
$27.00 list price

About this item

Highlights

  • The masterful storytelling and gripping suspense that are trademarks of the beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author combine in this thrilling story perfect for fans of Nora Roberts and James Patterson... Mateo Castillo is a rising star chef on the verge of breaking out in Manhattan's cutthroat celebrity cooking scene - until a mysterious illness sends him to the ER.
  • About the Author: Fern Michaels is the USA Today and New York Times bestselling author of the Sisterhood, Lost and Found, Men of the Sisterhood, the Godmothers series, and dozens of other novels and novellas.
  • 288 Pages
  • Fiction + Literature Genres, Thrillers

Description



About the Book



Mateo Castillo is a rising star chef on the Manhattan culinary scene. But just as he's about to reap the rewards of his skill and hard work by being featured on a major TV cooking competition, Mateo collapses in his restaurant's kitchen and regains consciousness in a hospital emergency room. If it weren't for a security guard finding him in time, Mateo would have bled to death. The cause of his sudden illness is as mysterious as it is worrying, and Mateo and his family undergo a battery of genetic tests. Yet the answers that start to emerge only raise more questions. Mateo's parents fled their home in Colombia many years ago, seeking refuge from the infamous cartels. Now the test results threaten to uncover a dark secret that exposes his family to dangers in the past while clouding the investigation into who is trying to hurt Mateo in the present.



Book Synopsis



The masterful storytelling and gripping suspense that are trademarks of the beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author combine in this thrilling story perfect for fans of Nora Roberts and James Patterson...

Mateo Castillo is a rising star chef on the verge of breaking out in Manhattan's cutthroat celebrity cooking scene - until a mysterious illness sends him to the ER. As he and his doctor, Adrian Ardell, investigate the cause of his episodes, they find they have more in common than their shared interest in his health. Like Mateo, Adrian's family immigrated to the US when she was young, fleeing a country overrun with violence. While Mateo is from South America, her roots are Eastern European, but they both understand what it takes to succeed against all odds. They begin to develop feelings for one another, even as their search for answers leads them to more questions from Mateo's past...

In 1988 Colombia, Mateo's young parents meet at a Salsa dance class and fall in love. But the country is controlled by ruthless, brutal cartels and they're forced to flee when violence arrives on their doorstep. Their journey first to Mexico and then the United States is filled with danger and uncertainty, but eventually they're able to make a home and a family.

Now, Mateo's strange illness threatens to uncover a dark secret that even he could never have guessed, exposing his family to dangers from the past--while clouding the investigation into who is trying to hurt Mateo in the present...



Review Quotes




Praise for Fern Micheals' Standalone Hardcover Novels

"Dramatic, riveting and a delicious page turner." --Woman's World on Fearless

"Without giving too much of this fabulous, stirring, somewhat suspenseful, novel away before you get a chance to read it yourself, let me just say that CJ finds herself uprooted from everyone and everything she's ever known, and placed (for her own protection) into a small New England town--on the water that took Kick from her... There are so many layers to this story; as each is peeled back and revealed to the reader, it's the heart, soul, and resilience of CJ, a strong female character, that endears Deep Harbor to us." --Delilah, Radio Host and Bestselling Author, on Deep Harbor

"This standalone book is a warm-hearted, romantic story with a touch of suspense and carries Michaels' trademark funny, snappy banter." --Booklist on Deep Harbor

"Michaels' highly developed skills as a storyteller are evident in the affable characters, suspenseful plot, and delightful romance."-- Publishers Weekly on Deep Harbor

"A page-turner, Southern Comfort tells a story with the perfect blend of mystery, adventure and romance...Between the high-intensity of the case-cracking and the blossoming of new relationships, this novel is a great fast-paced beach read for a slow summer day." --The Charleston Mercury

"Michaels turns [a] fairy tale into a story about family...Will appeal to Michaels' faithful fans or teenagers reading their first romance." --Library Journal on A Family Affair

"[A] tale of strong emotions and courage." --Publishers Weekly on No Safe Secret

"With its cast of feisty seniors and spunky, resourceful women, Michaels' latest is sure to capture the hearts of its readers, even while tickling their funny bones." --Booklist on The Blossom Sisters



About the Author



Fern Michaels is the USA Today and New York Times bestselling author of the Sisterhood, Lost and Found, Men of the Sisterhood, the Godmothers series, and dozens of other novels and novellas. There are over ninety-five million copies of her books in print. Fern Michaels has built and funded several large day-care centers in her hometown, and is a passionate animal lover who has outfitted police dogs across the country with special bulletproof vests. She shares her home in South Carolina with her four dogs and a resident ghost named Mary Margaret. Visit her Website at FernMichaels.com.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.3 Inches (H) x 5.7 Inches (W) x 1.3 Inches (D)
Weight: .79 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 288
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Thrillers
Publisher: Kensington Publishing Corporation
Theme: Domestic
Format: Hardcover
Author: Fern Michaels
Language: English
Street Date: March 28, 2023
TCIN: 87145967
UPC: 9781496737144
Item Number (DPCI): 247-39-9144
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.3 inches length x 5.7 inches width x 8.3 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.79 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based AdsHealth Privacy Policy