Schwinn Men's Hammersley 29" Cruiser Bike

Schwinn Men's Hammersley 29" Cruiser Bike - image 1 of 4Schwinn Men's Hammersley 29" Cruiser Bike - image 2 of 4Schwinn Men's Hammersley 29" Cruiser Bike - image 3 of 4Schwinn Men's Hammersley 29" Cruiser Bike - image 4 of 4
Schwinn Men's Hammersley 29" Cruiser Bike - image 1 of 4
$319.99When purchased online

About this item

Highlights

  • Schwinn steel 29er cruiser frame offers a sleek look and a comfortable, responsive ride
  • 7-speed Shimano rear derailleur for smooth gear changes
  • Front and rear alloy linear pull brakes offer smooth, controlled stopping
  • Classic sweptback handlebars keep you upright for a ride that's easier on your back; Schwinn quality padded cruiser seat softens the ride
  • Color-matching front and rear fenders add to the classic cruiser look and will keep your pant legs clean and dry

Specifications

Dimensions (Overall): 72 Inches (L), 44 Inches (H)

Weight: 49.1 Pounds

Holds up to: 250 Pounds

Suggested Age: 14 Years and Up

Bicycle Frame Material: Steel

Gear Speeds: 7

Rim Material: Steel

Pedal Material: Nylon

Seat Material: Nylon, PVC (Polyvinyl Chloride), Polypropylene

Assembly Details: Adult Assembly Required, Tools Not Provided

Wheel height: 29"

Tire Type: Knobby

Bicycle frame size: 17.5"

Front Brake System: Linear

Tire Width: 2.12 Inches

Bicycle Frame Type: Step-Over

Warranty: Lifetime Limited Warranty. To obtain a copy of the manufacturer's or supplier's warranty for this item prior to purchasing the item, please call Target Guest Services at 1-800-591-3869

TCIN: 50538905
UPC: 038675278806
Item Number (DPCI): 082-09-1001
Origin: Imported

Description

You are cool dude and heck you know it. But how will you let everyone else know? Check out the Hammersley. Now isn't that the accessory that a cool dude like you needs to complete the look? We know you don't want to make it like you work hard at it, cool is something that comes to life over time, not born in a weekend. The Hammersley is what cool rides when it wants to roll in, and make a statement that says yeah, I know you know I am in the know. This bike is about simple beauty with a manly edge. A cruiser with 29" wheels so it looks proportional around you. This is an adult bike, not something borrowed from the kids. Seven speeds are enough that you can tackle some hills and bridges along the way. There is a comfy laid-back spring saddle, swept back handle bars and linear pull brakes, plus all the style details that makes it look planned but not forced. Biking freedom sometimes means finding a bike that reflects you. Relax, be cool and enjoy the ride.
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 54.5 inches length x 30.5 inches width x 8.5 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 48.5 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: Hawaii, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), APO/FPO, Virgin Islands, U.S., Northern Mariana Islands, Guam (see also separate entry under GU), United States Minor Outlying Islands, Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR)
This item ships in its original packaging, revealing what’s inside. ·Details

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Q: Does this bike come with a water bottle mount

submitted by Daniel - 3 years ago
  • A: Hello Daniel! This model does not come stock with a water bottle mount but it can be added as an aftermarket part.

    submitted bySchwinnCustomerSupport - 1 year ago
    Brand expert
  • A: Water bottle mount is not included.

    submitted by1luv - 2 years ago

Q: Can you add a basket on the front and/or back?

submitted by rp - 2 years ago
  • A: Hi RP, Depending on the aftermarket basket, you may be required to mount it on the back or front but there are some baskets that would require a straight handlebar which would not work on the Schwinn Hammersley. But yes, you should be able to mount a basket to this bike. Thanks, Alex

    submitted bySchwinnCustomerSupport - 2 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: I have two artficial knees. Will this bike work for me?Easy on/off, and knee length.

submitted by Joseph Spiezio - 3 years ago
  • A: Hi Joseph - The Hammersley has about a 31.5" standover height and would require lifting your legs rather high to get on the bike. We would recommend a bike with a step-thru frame and consulting your physician prior to beginning any new exercise regimen. Thanks, Jen

    submitted bySchwinnCustomerSupport - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: What is the weight capacity?

submitted by Camille - 3 years ago
  • A: Weight shouldn't be an issue. The bikes don't have a set weight limit due to the testing done to meet industry standards. The bikes are tested at a variety of weights and forces and several factors determine how much weight a bike can hold such as tire psi, maintenance, and riding style. For more info on the testing, you can check out www.cpsc.gov. Thanks, Nicole

    submitted bySchwinnCustomerSupport - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: My husband is 6ft 6inches will this bike work for his height?

submitted by Bikeseeker59 - 3 years ago
  • A: Hi! The Schwinn Hammersley will have about a 31" stand over height. The best measurement to go by will be his inseam. Thanks, Jen

    submitted bySchwinnCustomerSupport - 3 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: The picture of the bike shows smooth street-type tires, but the description says knobby tires. I’m avoiding mountain bikes because of the very knobby tires. What kind of tires does this bike come with?

submitted by Mark - 4 years ago
  • A: The tire on this model isn't a mountain bike tire, although it does have a thicker tread to allow cruising comfortably on a variety of terrain. Thank you.

    submitted bySchwinnCustomerSupport - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can I purchase assembled?

submitted by Ced - 4 years ago
  • A: The bike comes partially assembled. You'll need to attach the front wheel, handlebars, seat and pedals. The manual has instructions and photos for easy assembly. Thank you.

    submitted bySchwinnCustomerSupport - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: Can a child seat be mounted on the back?

submitted by Karen - 5 years ago
  • A: Hi Karen - a child carrier should fit on this cruiser. We suggest checking with the manufacturer of the child carrier for their bicycle recommendations. Thanks for your question and interest in Schwinn.

    submitted bySchwinnCustomerSupport - 4 years ago
    Brand expert

Q: I'm 5'7 will this bike still work well for me?

submitted by Roy - 5 years ago
  • A: Hi Roy - the recommended rider height for this bike is 64 - 74 inches tall and you fall within this range. Thanks for your question and interest in Schwinn.

    submitted bySchwinnCustomerSupport - 5 years ago
    Brand expert
2.3 out of 5 stars with 28 reviews
20% would recommend
15 recommendations
quality: 1.77 out of 5
value: 1.7 out of 5
comfort: 3.2 out of 5

Cheap Inner Tube Explodes

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Cheap Inner Tube Explodes - 2 years ago
Very nice bike. Rides smooth. The only downfall is the inner tube is cheaply made and very thin, so after a few rides, it explodes. Very dangerous! So I would either purchase a different bike or buy different inner tubes.
quality: 1 out of 5
comfort: 5 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
10 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Disappointed in assembly

2 out of 5 stars
Poorly assembled - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
I haven't even given it as a gift yet but when I picked it up from the store, the bike was not put together properly so I had to leave it and go back a second time. When I went back to get it, the back tire was rubbing and it was hard to move. The manager came over and took it for a ride and said that he felt that he fixed it and that the gears were jammed. I took it out to my car and the wheel started rubbing again. I had a friend take a look at it and noticed that the rear wheel is off-set so we are trying to fix it. Luckily, I bought the warranty for this item because if it can't be fixed, I will be returning it.
comfort: 4 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
value: 5 out of 5
7 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

DO NOT BUY

1 out of 5 stars
B - 2 years ago
I was very excited when I bought this bike. It looks great and was at a very affordable price. Putting together the bike was a bit annoying but that’s fairly standard. The first couple rides (which were very short) were ok, although it was not the smoothest ride and the changing of gears was not smooth at all. However, on my fourth ride, the tire unexpectedly exploded and sounded like a bomb went off. I cannot begin to explain the frustration and disappointment, and not to mention embarrassment as people nearby came to check out the loud noise. It was essentially a brand new bike and it broke down in a terrible, and quite frankly incredibly dangerous way. I better get my money back. This product shouldn’t even be on the shelves. Won’t be buying Schwinn products again and questioning whether I’ll buy a bike from Target again.
comfort: 2 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
10 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Schwinn should be ashamed

1 out of 5 stars
S - 2 years ago
All reviews are correct, quality is terrible schwinn really outsourced every part to china on this one,both rims are so cheap and have this woobly bend which in turn causes the brakes to contantly rub no matter how you adjust them, riding down an incline the front brakes just gave out and i had to use my sandals to stop, also the fenders rub against the tires , this was returned within a week
comfort: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
16 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Bent Rims...

1 out of 5 stars
Frank - 2 years ago, Verified purchaser
This bike has major issues starting with the rims... I bought 2 of the bikes to find out that each bike I bought had bent rims. The first bike, the rim was wobbly and bent while I was riding it on a 6 mile bike ride... It rim was unrepairable so I returned it.... I took the second bike to a bike shop to have the rims trued to be told by the owner that he couldn’t get the wobble out of the Rims because the where made out of cheap material.., Needless to say I had to return the bike because of the same problem,. I read the reviews before I bought the bike but I ignored all the other negative reviews to find out they where correct about the rim issues.... Please see photos,..
40 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Horrible quality. I ignored the bad reviews.

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Eddie M - 3 years ago
the bike is cheap quality. the tires were bent. I ignores the reviews and figured the bike would be OK. it's a really nice looking bike but it's made with cheap materials. I just bought the bike 2 days ago. an hour in to a long bike ride the gears were making loud noises and the tires were wobbly. I do not recommend this bike.
21 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

No Good

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Sk8 - 3 years ago
Bought from store assembled with back bent rim and stripped handlebars
comfort: 4 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
value: 3 out of 5
9 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Don't Buy It!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Simon - 3 years ago
Don't buy it, you'll be sorry. I bought the bike because it was a cruiser and it was 29", I'm tall. Bought it on 11/16/2019 , rode it once in November and then again recently during the Corona Virus Lock-down. On the second ride after 4 miles, while changing gears, the shimano rear derailleur mechanism, broke and bent inward and got caught in the spokes of the wheel, bending the wheel, bending the shimano rear derailleur, and the back fender. It really made the wheel/fender look like spaghetti. Literally rode the bike twice before it malfunctioned. Called Schwinn Customer Service to discuss warranty and they are sending a boatload of parts for me to fix it. Tried to get my money back, or get labor to fix it but that's not happening. P.S. This was the second bike of the same model that I bought. On the first one the tires rubbed the fenders, and the handlebars were loose and couldn't be adjusted. Took that one back to the store for an exchange. Like the other review said "You get what you pay for". Schwinn is not the bike it used to be. Sorry that I made a recommendation to my neighbor to buy a Schwinn> obviously not the quality that the older bikes used to be.
1 reply from InStepCustomerSupport team - 3 years ago
Hello Simon - It sounds like the derailleur may have needed a bit of fine tuning. The owner's manual provides instructions to complete the initial alignment adjustment and monthly maintenance adjustments to keep that in proper position. When they move out of their limit it can cause them to break. Glad to hear our team was able to get replacement parts out to your right away. We'd be happy to help with any information needed to get those installed and you ready to ride. Thank you, Nicole
comfort: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
14 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Lots of Problems

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Patrick - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
I was excited for the bike but the first issue was the instructions for assembly didn't quite match. There were no instructions on how to install the front fender as the manual included instructions for installation for two different types of front fenders (the kind that, like the rear fender, attach to wheel base) but the front fender for this bike does not do that. In its own not a big deal and not too difficult to figure out, but then rear fender, which comes assembled, was bent in several places so it was touching/rubbing against the back tire, almost look as if it was installed too tightly or with a mounting piece that was just a little too small. Lastly, I inflated the tires to just under 40 psi (says right on tire to inflate to 40 psi), hadn't even ridden it yet and rear tire blew out while the bike was just sitting in the driveway.
1 reply from InStepCustomerSupport team - 3 years ago
Hi Patrick - Thanks for your feedback on your new bike. Our team is available for any assembly questions to help with the ease of installation. There are many reasons a tube can pop including debris, pinch flat or air compression while pumping. We can get a new tube and rear fender out to you with the Schwinn limited lifetime warranty. Please reach out to use and any of our reps can get you ride ready in no time. Thank you, Nicole
9 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Not a quality bike

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Bitterends - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
This bike is terrible quality. Have been unable to get the brakes to stay in place, handle bars will not tighten enough to stay in place and rims are bent.
1 reply from InStepCustomerSupport team - 3 years ago
Hi Bitterends - Thanks for letting us know about your Hammersley. The brakes need an initial alignment adjustment to get everything working smoothly. In the manual there are instructions with photos to get those adjustment fine tuned. These can be a little tricky if it's something your new to. Our team would be happy to help walk you through those, as well as help with the handlebar and rims under the Schwinn warranty. Thanks, Nicole
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Schwinn quality?

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Disappointed customer - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
I received my boxed Schwinn Hammersley bicycle yesterday. Upon opening the box and removing all packaging I started assembly. Two issues will result in a return of the product. 1. Front fork bearings were over-tightened and I could not turn the fork forward to permit assembly. 2. Front wheel hub bearings were over-tightened and the wheel could not spin. Both issues were out-of-box failures. Schwinn quality?
quality: 1 out of 5
7 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Not Getting Better

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Kerry - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
I was hopeful given the responses by the customer response team on other reviews, but it seems they have decided not to fix this clear on-going issue. I chose this bike over others based mostly on aesthetics. I chose to ignore the negative reviews, in hopes that they've resolved them, but I too received a bike with bent rims. I went with a full refund; you should probably just avoid the purchase.
1 reply from SchwinnCustomerSupport team - 3 years ago
Hi Kerry, We listen and review any concerns or questions about our products and stand behind them. We honor a Limited Lifetime Warranty covering any parts against manufacturing defects for 1 year from purchase date. We are here Monday-Friday 8am-5pm CST if you would like to reach out to us by phone or email. Thanks, Jessie
quality: 1 out of 5
value: 1 out of 5
8 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

3 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Schneider - 3 years ago, Verified purchaser
I haven’t gotten the chance to ride this bike yet but when it was shipped to my house the front tire had a bent spoke right when I opened the box. I emailed Schwinn for a replacement and they are sending me a new one but I just think it’s ridiculous how you spend all this money for a bike to only have it damaged and wait for another part that might also get damaged in the mail
comfort: 3 out of 5
quality: 2 out of 5
value: 2 out of 5
9 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Waste of money and time - spend your money on another (better) brand!

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
Casey - 3 years ago
I had the bike adjusted when I bought it because the fenders were rubbing on the tires, but that can't compensate for the fact that it's a poorly made, cheap bike. I've had both tires blow within weeks of riding it (and yes, they were properly inflated based on the tie size). The brakes are either too tight that the bike squeals when riding, or loosened slightly and won't stop the bike, even when compressed all the way. It might be a 7-speed, but only 3 of the gears work, and the chain will quickly fall off altogether if you aren't in the right gear, and it will constantly change gears automatically while you are pedaling. Almost forgot to mention how loud the bike is, and it constantly clacks and speaks, no matter what gear you are in. I ride in my neighborhood on the sidewalk or in the bike lane, that has minimal uphill or downhill slopes, so it's not like I'm off-roading or being demanding with where I ride. Beautiful bike, but don't waste our money if you actually plan to ride it. Really disappointed in how poorly made Schwinn bikes have become.
1 reply from SchwinnCustomerSupport team - 3 years ago
We noticed you weren't happy with your new Schwinn. The bike does come with a warranty and we'd like to help get your bike riding safely and smoothly so you can enjoy your purchase. Please reach out to us at 800-626-2811 Monday-Friday 8am-5pm CST or customerservice@pacific-cycle.com for help resolving this.
value: 1 out of 5
quality: 1 out of 5
comfort: 3 out of 5
7 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Bike

5 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
RHONDA78 - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
Nice bike and excellent price!
1 reply from SchwinnCustomerSupport team - 4 years ago
Hi RHONDA - thanks for leaving a review on your new 29" Schwinn Hammersley Cruiser. Happy riding!
comfort: 5 out of 5
quality: 5 out of 5
4 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Piece of junk

1 out of 5 stars
Rider - 4 years ago
Within two days of riding there were multiple rattles and squeals that could not be fixed. I returned it. I think all Schwinns are made in China with cheap materials.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

(no review title)

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
HarleyDangerfield - 4 years ago, Verified purchaser
Very good value for a very good bike. Assembly was typical for a bike of this type - take your time and follow instructions.
comfort: 4 out of 5
quality: 4 out of 5
1 guest found this review helpful. Did you?

Bent wheel from the store on 2 different bikes

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
jryan - 4 years ago
I was excited to get this bike but just like others the rear wheel was bent. I called the store and they gave me no trouble and told me to bring it back. As I checked out the replacement bike it too had a bent rear wheel. I'm not sure how this is happening so consistently other than how they are packaged/shipped. If you can get one without the bent wheel I'd recommend the bike and give it 5 stars. It was comfortable, I liked the big wheels and looked retro.
1 reply from SchwinnCustomerSupport team - 4 years ago
Hi jryan - the rear wheel shouldn't be bent like that on your new Schwinn Hammersley. Schwinn comes with a limited LIFETIME warranty so give us call at 1-800-626-2811 and we'd be happy to get things straightened out for you. Thanks.
6 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Ehhh

1 out of 5 stars
Would not recommend
AS - 5 years ago, Verified purchaser
Rear wheel is slightly bent and makes a rubbing noise as it turns. Shifting is not smoothe. Over all Ehhh Not impressed
1 reply from SchwinnCustomerSupport team - 5 years ago
Hi AS - Your new Hammersley shoudn't have a bent wheel. Schwinn bikes come with a limited LIFETIME warranty. Give us a call, we'd be happy to get your wheels rolling. 1-800-626-2811 Thank you
5 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Nice Ride, Good Appearance, Sturdy, LOUSY Rubber (Innertubes)

4 out of 5 stars
Would recommend
Jimbob - 5 years ago
Bought the bike in mid November 2017 and have ridden it in a leisurely manner since then. No abuse, only blacktop bike trails, just comfortable rides each week. No problems EXCEPT the tires. The front tires tube blew out within 3 weeks (it was properly inflated according to the side of the tire). So I had to replace that. And today, 3/31/18 the rear tires tube blew out. That’s only 4 1/2 months on the rear tire. So both have been replace in a short time. I would buy this bicycle again but I’d immediately replace the tubes. That raises the cost of the bike but it’s a good bike that provides all the features I want. I’d actually rate it 3.5 and it would be 4.5 if the tubes had been good.
10 guests found this review helpful. Did you?

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopTarget's Coronavirus ResponseSustainability & ESGPress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target CircleRedCardTarget AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsDo Not Sell My Personal InformationInterest Based Ads