EasterGroceryClothing, Shoes & AccessoriesHomeFurnitureKitchen & DiningOutdoor Living & GardenElectronicsVideo GamesToysMovies, Music & BooksSports & OutdoorsBabyBeautyPersonal CareHealthPetsHousehold EssentialsSchool & Office SuppliesArts, Crafts & SewingParty SuppliesLuggageTarget OpticalClearanceGift IdeasCharacter ShopGift CardsBlack-Owned or Founded Brands at TargetTarget New ArrivalsTarget Finds#TargetStyleBlack Beyond MeasureMás QuePride 365Women-Owned Brands at TargetAsian-Owned Brands at TargetTop DealsTarget Circle OffersWeekly AdShop Order PickupShop Same Day DeliveryRegistryRedCardTarget CircleFind Stores

Sponsored

The Engagement Party - by Finley Turner

The Engagement Party - by Finley Turner - image 1 of 1
The Engagement Party - by Finley Turner - image 1 of 1
$24.99 when purchased online

About this item

Description



Book Synopsis



A lavish engagement party turns deadly and the bride-to-be is the primary suspect in this heart-stopping thriller exploring the dark underbelly of the uber wealthy and just how far people will go for revenge, in the vein of Sarah Pinborough and Ruth Ware.

Kass Baptiste is newly engaged to her fiancé Murray Sedgemont after a whirlwind romance. Before they even get to share the news, an invitation arrives via messenger - to an engagement party hosted by Murray's parents. When Kass and Murray arrive at the Sedgemont Estate, she is astonished to learn that Murray's family is one of the most powerful families in North Carolina. As Kass's future mother-in-law, Beatrice, whips herself into a frenzy over the perfect party for the state's elite, Kass begins to receive anonymous threatening social media messages.

On the night of the event, as champagne is popped and the celebrations begin, a body is found in the lavish home. All eyes are on Kass, the interloper amongst the rich and powerful guests. Over the course of the party, Kass's dark past unexpectedly becomes intertwined with the murder, and in order to prove her innocence, she must finally come to terms with her secrets.

As Murray's family secrets are revealed, Kass must prove herself innocent while evading the anonymous threats that haunt her every move.



Review Quotes




Praise for The Engagement Party
"A solid, psychological thriller, with twists and turns to keep the reader engaged."
--Red Carpet Crash

"A juicy thriller with gothic vibes, unforgettable characters, and a twisty plot line that can't be missed! Turner's debut is a knockout, and perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. A must-read of the season."
--Carissa Ann Lynch, USA Today bestselling author of The Bachelorette Party

"A fancy party, a snobby family, and mysterious past all come together in a tangled web of lies, secrets and betrayal! The Engagement Party has it all in unexpected places and in all the best ways. A twisty, turny delight."
--Mina Hardy, author of We Knew All Along and After All I've Done

"The engagement party from hell and a family seeped in secrets--I tore through this twisty tale of the ultra-rich, which kept me guessing until the shocking end!"
--Aggie Blum Thompson, author of I Don't Forgive You

"Finley Turner invites readers to an eerie and atmospheric 'engagement party' where twists and surprises abound. You can't turn the pages fast enough to find out who's bringing more secrets into this marriage: the groom or the bride."
--Liz Alterman, author of The Perfect Neighborhood

"I devoured this juicy romp into the lives of the horribly rich on their worst behavior. While a classic whodunnit, The Engagement Party kept me on my toes with its fresh and modern twists. Readers will race through this debut, which is darkly gripping and just plain fun!"
--Nicole Hackett, author of The Perfect Ones

"The Engagement Party has the glamour and ever-lurking twists reminiscent of Knives Out, coupled with a chilling, page-turning pace that made it impossible to put down. Turner expertly weaves the past and present to create an unexpected locked room mystery where every character is glittering in diamonds and dark secrets."
--Amanda Pellegrino, author of The Social Climber



About the Author



Finley Turner is a debut thriller writer. Initially convinced she wanted to be a professor, she got her master's in religious studies at Wake Forest University, focusing on new religious movements, cults, and religious violence. During her program, she applied for a student position in the university library and quickly realized she would rather be an academic librarian than be at the front of a classroom teaching. She worked as an archivist at Wake Forest University for six years after getting her masters in library and information science from UNC Greensboro. She now writes and parents full time. Finley lives in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, with her family.
Dimensions (Overall): 8.4 Inches (H) x 5.6 Inches (W) x 1.2 Inches (D)
Weight: .8 Pounds
Suggested Age: 22 Years and Up
Number of Pages: 320
Genre: Fiction + Literature Genres
Sub-Genre: Thrillers
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Theme: Suspense
Format: Hardcover
Author: Finley Turner
Language: English
Street Date: November 7, 2023
TCIN: 88555509
UPC: 9781639105977
Item Number (DPCI): 247-04-8566
Origin: Made in the USA or Imported
If the item details above aren’t accurate or complete, we want to know about it.

Shipping details

Estimated ship dimensions: 1.2 inches length x 5.6 inches width x 8.4 inches height
Estimated ship weight: 0.8 pounds
We regret that this item cannot be shipped to PO Boxes.
This item cannot be shipped to the following locations: United States Minor Outlying Islands, American Samoa (see also separate entry under AS), Puerto Rico (see also separate entry under PR), Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands, U.S., APO/FPO, Guam (see also separate entry under GU)

Return details

This item can be returned to any Target store or Target.com.
This item must be returned within 90 days of the date it was purchased in store, shipped, delivered by a Shipt shopper, or made ready for pickup.
See the return policy for complete information.

Get top deals, latest trends, and more.

Privacy policy

Footer

About Us

About TargetCareersNews & BlogTarget BrandsBullseye ShopSustainability & GovernancePress CenterAdvertise with UsInvestorsAffiliates & PartnersSuppliersTargetPlus

Help

Target HelpReturnsTrack OrdersRecallsContact UsFeedbackAccessibilitySecurity & FraudTeam Member Services

Stores

Find a StoreClinicPharmacyOpticalMore In-Store Services

Services

Target Circle™Target Circle™ CardTarget Circle 360™Target AppRegistrySame Day DeliveryOrder PickupDrive UpFree 2-Day ShippingShipping & DeliveryMore Services
PinterestFacebookInstagramXYoutubeTiktokTermsCA Supply ChainPrivacyCA Privacy RightsYour Privacy ChoicesInterest Based Ads